Aviation Science (Professional Pilot): Get Started
Quick access to books, videos, ebooks, manuals, articles, and job listings of interest to students in the PCC aviation science program.
Selected biographies
Reclaiming the Sky: 9/11 and the untold story of the men and women who kept America flying by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2007
Streaming videos
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowThousands of high-resolution streaming videos organized by subject. For academic research as well as general interest, this collection includes archival and newsreel films as well as career and technical videos.
- Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new windowStreaming videos organized by subject, for academic research as well as general interest. Contains many genres, from documentaries to movies to training videos. Publishers include BBC, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection, First Run Features, New Day Films, PBS, etc.
Note: Kanopy does not support Windows 7 and Internet Explorer. If you are having trouble viewing Kanopy videos, you may need to upgrade or change your browser. See What Desktop Browsers and Systems are Supported by Kanopy and How to Troubleshoot Browser Issues for additional help.
Aviation E-books from the FAA
From the FAA: This page lists FAA-approved versions of handbooks and manuals for beginners and aviation professionals. Publications are updated periodically to reflect new FAA regulations and technical developments.
Just a few of the books you can download for free:
PCC Library Search
Magazines
These magazines are on the shelf at the Rock Creek Library.
Finding Articles
Need an article on a current issue? What about a refresher on how propellers work? Databases can help!
- Access Science This link opens in a new windowAn online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms. It contains nearly 9,000 online encyclopedia articles, terms, images and videos related to sciences and technology. The Study Center provides essay topics, study guides and bibliographies.
- Learning Express Library This link opens in a new windowInteractive practice tests and tutorials to help you succeed on academic or licensing tests. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. You must sign in before taking a test.
- Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new windowCurrent news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and abstracts for about 400 titles.
Books available
Private Pilot Oral Exam Guide by Call Number: Rock Creek Main Collection 629.1325 H39p 2017Publication Date: 2017Both eBook and print book available.
Understanding Flight, Second Edition by Call Number: Southeast Main Collection 629.13 A53u 2010Publication Date: 2010
