Career Guidance and Exploration: Career Exploration
Get the Facts About Different Kinds of Jobs
What exactly does a chef do? What do you need to do to get to drive a train? Find out all about different occupations:
- Occupational Outlook HandbookGet the quick details on all kinds of careers and jobs, like working conditions, educational requirements, jobs prospects, average salary or wage.
- O*Net OnlineA tool for career exploration and job analysis, from US Dept of Labor. Provides descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more.
- Career One StopLearn about careers, find career information, and locate career resources and advice with this U.S. Department of Labor Resource.
- State of Oregon Employment DepartmentThis is the Oregon Department of Labor website. Find information about jobs and careers in Oregon, current data about job forecasts and hiring trends, find employers and industries in our state, and access occupation and training resources.
- My Next MoveMy Next Move is an interactive tool for job seekers and students to learn more about their career options. My Next Move has tasks, skills, salary information, and more for over 900 different careers.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics Wage DataInformation on average salaries for different jobs and industries, both at the national and state levels.
- Oregon Career Information System This link opens in a new windowProvides a system of occupational and educational information to help Oregonians learn about the world of work and education.
Books and Movies on Careers, at PCC Library
Suggested searches in the Library catalog, for books and movies (in print and online):
- Career development
- Occupations -- United States
- Career exploration
- Resume writing
- Cover letters
- Employment interviewing
You may also find books on a specific career by searching for that career along with the term jobs or careers (example: criminal justice careers).
What do I need to Become a...
These resources describe what skills and training you need to get a specific type of job and what sorts of jobs you can get with a specific major.
- Learn How to BecomeExplore careers and what skills and education you need to enter that field.
- What Can I Do With This Major?Connects majors to careers, possible employers and strategies for getting work in the field.
- What can I do with a degree in...?Resource from Portland State University that describes the types of jobs one can get and employers that hire graduates with a degree in a particular major. Focused on Portland, Oregon and the Pacific Northwest.
- Learning Express Library This link opens in a new windowInteractive practice tests and tutorials to help you succeed on academic or licensing tests. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. You must sign in before taking a test.
Careers and Job Search videos
Watch and listen to programs about careers, job search tips and how to be successful at work. In the Films on Demand library database.
Explore Different Careers
Career Exploration movies.
People in a variety of professions talk about how they got into their careers.
PCC's Career Centers offer career advising, computers for occupational research, and career libraries of books and handouts. Staff share their expertise and guide you to resources you can use to make important decisions about your education and career, including career assessments, occupational information, employment outlook, information on colleges and universities,and education and training requirements.
College Source [website]
An online collection of college catalogs. Search by college name, geographic area, or specific
U.S. News and World Reports - Best Careers [website]
Offers lots of information about different careers, including profiles of 30 careers that offer strong outlooks and high job satisfaction in 2009.
Vocational and Career Collection [database]
EBSCOhost. Full text coverage for 400 trade and industry-related periodicals including American Machinist, Contemporary Longterm Care, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Video Business, Reeves Journal, Hotel and Motel Management,Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more.
Listen to TED Talks about careers, from people who really know what they're talking about!