History -- United States: Getting Started

Exploring Topics in American History

This History of the United States collection will bring you articles on many parts of the nation's history, for good and ill. A great place to start.

One Long Night by Andrea Pitzer
ISBN: 9780316303590
Publication Date: 2017-09-19
Traces the history of Concentration camps, from the first ones in Cuba (1890s) to the Boer War, the Soviet Union's Gulag, Nazi Germany, Maoist China, Japanese-American camps in World War II, and back to Guantanamo, Cuba, today.
Obama: the Call of History by Peter Baker
ISBN: 9780935112900
Publication Date: 2017-06-27
The first history of Obama's presidency written after he left office. Author Peter Baker is a staff writer for the New York Times.

Need help from a librarian? Use our chat system. Click the button to open the chat window.

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Search from a wide range of research databases for magazine and journal articles. Updated daily. View the EBSCOhost handout
Mobile URL: EBSCOhost Mobile
Gale Ebooks (formerly GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks has over 200 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Look here for biology, chemistry, nursing and medicine, sociology, history, education, law, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR has full text of over 1000 scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, as far back as 18xx up to 3-5 years ago. Note: It does not include current issues of the journals. All ARTstor image collections are now part of JSTOR, and can be searched using the "Images" tab then selecting "ARTstor collections".
U.S. History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This collection of over 40 journals provides balanced coverage of both current thought and events in U.S. History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. Useful both to the novice historian and to the advanced academic researcher.
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
A collection of full text periodicals, reference works, and primary sources as well as scholarly analyses. Images, videos, and audio recordings bring additional perspectives to United States history from pre-colonial times to the present.