Guide to research in geography.
- Oregon Imagery ExplorerHigh resolution color aerial photography is available of the entire state. The imagery, flown in the summer of 2005, can be viewed or downloaded from Oregon Imagery Explorer.
- MetromapUse Metro's free online mapping service to view and share maps and data or to query parcel and tax assessment information, zoning, political boundaries, planning information, flood plain and special districts.
- Portland MapsMap a specific intersection or area of the city and pull up data about that area.
- Regional Equity Atlas for the Portland Metropolitan Area.Pre-made maps showing things like percentage of immigrants in a neighborhood, income levels, health care, and transit access. It also allows the creation of specially created maps combining different sorts of data. Requires a download of Microsoft Silverlight.
- Atlas of the Pacific NorthwestAn online companion to the print atlas serves as a platform for the geographically curious to explore data about the region, providing as many critical questions as it does critical answers.
- Portland Planning Bureau: Historic Resources and PreservationPortland Planning Bureau: Historic Resources and Preservation
Provides information about historic landmarks in Portland as well as historic Portland maps.
- City of Portland Map, GIS, and Open DataLinks to public datasets and mapping projects from the city.
- Portland > Historic Maps OnlineProvided by the Portland Bureau of Sustainability, a collection of digitized historical views of Portland and its environs. Some items held in tangible form at the City Archives.
- Oregon Explorer: Natural Resources Digital LibraryOregon Explorer provides a web-based natural resources digital library by integrating data from state and federal agencies, local governments, university scientists, and citizens. A collaboration between Oregon State University Libraries and the Institute for Natural Resources.
- Oregon MapAccess to the digital tax assessment maps for all counties in Oregon.
- Atlas of Oregon LakesThe online atlas highlights lake and reservoir water data stored within the Pacific Northwest Water Quality Data Exchange (PNWWQX). The PNWWQX collaborates between a variety of information management projects to facilitate the aggregation of and access to a comprehensive source of data related to water quality in the Pacific Northwest.
- Oregon Dept. of Transportation MapsDetailed maps for cities and counties in Oregon. Statewide maps are also available.
- Urban Growth Boundary MapFrom Metro
- The National Map: Historical Topographic Map CollectionHigh-resolution scans of more than 178,000 historical topographic maps of the United States.
- USGS Topographical MapsUS Topo topographic maps are produced by the National Geospatial Program of the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS). The project was launched in late 2009, and the term “US Topo” refers specifically to quadrangle topographic maps published in 2009 and later.
- U.S.G.S. Maps, Imagery and PublicationsThe U.S.G.S. guide to the maps and other cartographic materials available from the United States Geological Survey. The U.S.G.S. "Store" for purchasing these materials.
- Perry-Casteñeda Map Collection (University of Texas)Extensive collection of digitized maps. International in scope. Includes maps of cities, states, regions, nations, and of the world. Political and historical maps are included.
- Map Collections (Library of Congress)Digitized historic maps at the Library of Congress. Includes cities & towns, conservation & environment, discovery & exploration, communication & transportation, military battles, and cultural landscapes.
- Digital Map Collection (U. of California)Access to California digital maps as well as non-California digital maps. Includes digital topographic maps, including international locations.
- U.S. GazetteerAccess to detailed maps of communities in the United States. Excellent options for place name searches.
- U.S.G.S. EarthExplorerZoom into specific addresses or locations via Google Earth. International coverage. Possible to create geographic datasets. Order satellite images, aerial photographs, and other cartographic materials from the U.S.G.S. (U.S. Geological Survey).