Marketing: Find Articles
The Standard and Poor's database is a useful database for market survey assignments. It includes Industry profiles, comparison of companies in key sectors, and company data including stock performance. It is limited to publicly traded companies. The Business Insights Global database also provides company profiles, and includes some information for privately held companies.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 4,500 scholarly social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. 3,700 are peer-reviewed.
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new windowBrings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Find detailed company and industry news and information.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for over 3,000 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and more.
- Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowOver 250 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects include advertising and public relations, linguistics, and literature.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles relating to all aspects of communication and mass media.
- Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowSearch a subset of Gale with a focus on basic understandings of the study of the mind, emotions, and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time. Researchers will have access to nearly 500 subject-appropriate full text periodicals.
- Psychology Resources This link opens in a new windowSearch EBSCOhost's Psychology Collection, Academic Search Premier, and MasterFile Premier at the same time. Topics in the Psychology Collection include emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
- S&P NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowFull text of many S&P products, including the Stock Reports, Corporation Records, Industry Surveys, and more.
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers from five U.S. national and regional newspapers: New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and the Chicago Tribune
Find Articles with Google Scholar
Before searching, be sure to set PCC as your library in your browser by:
- Visiting the link to set "Library Links" settings for Google Scholar,
- using the search box to search for "Portland Community College",
- checking the check box that appears underneath the search to select “Portland Community College – Find it @ PCC”,
- and then selecting the Save button.
This will ensure that when you search Google Scholar in your browser, you will see Find It @ PCC links to full text if we have the article (Google Scholar sometimes also provides links to other free sources for full text).
You can learn more about setting Google Scholar preferences on the PCC Library Website.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar searches the web for scholarly articles, reports, books, and other materials. If using Google Scholar from a PCC campus, you can access full text articles. If PCC has access to an article, a "Find it @ PCC" link will appear to the right of the search result. Click “Find it @ PCC” to go to the library catalog where you will be offered a choice to view the article. From home, you will need to set your Google Scholar preferences to access PCC Library resources. See How to Search PCC Library on Google Scholar for directions on how to set your Google Scholar preferences at home.
Find a Specific Article
How to figure out if PCC has a specific article and (if we do) get the full-text:
- Use the PCC Library search box in the middle of the Library homepage to search for the title of the journal in which it was published (NOT the article title). TIP: If you don't know the title of the journal, try searching for the article title and the author(s) in Google to get that information.
- Find the journal title in the results list. If you find a result that says "Online Access" or "Available at" and a PCC campus location, that means it is available through the PCC Library. If it is available online, click on the Online Access link to be taken to full-text online database access for that journal. If it is available in print, click on the "Available at" link to find the location of the journal in the library.
- If you chose "Online Access", you will be taken to a page with "View online" options through databases made available through PCC Library. Click on any one of these.
- You should now be able to browse to the year and issue you want or to search the journal for the specific article title.
If PCC does not have access to full-text, you can request the article through interlibrary loan.
Scholarly and trade journals for Marketing Browse issues in full text. Databases provide generated citations for articles, the ability to email articles, and other tools. These titles also are available on the web, but may require subscription access.
If you don't find full-text
If the article you have found in a library database doesn't have the full text right there, click on the "Find It" button to see if the article is available in full-text in another database.
If we do have it, it will take you to a page that provides you a link to the database in which the article is available (click on that link to access the article).
If we do not have it, you will see a link to request the article through Interlibrary Loan, which takes approximately three days (though it may take more).
The "Find It" button will look like this.