Guide to research and resources related to Business Administration
- Ad* Access Print advertisementsFrom 1911 to 1955, collected by Duke University
- Business InsiderChannel for email alerts and newsletters on business trends of interest. Tips, trends, essays on a wide variety of business related topics
- Consumer Price indexesCurrent indexes: Consumer, Producer, International. Labor and productivity statistics. Fact sheets. From the Bureau of Labor Statistics
- Financial TimesInternational business news, and information. Commodity and currency markets, world politics, economic trends.
- Harvard Business ReviewA comprehensive portal of information sources for managers, business students, and educators. Audio, RSS, full text sources that are frequently updated by business and entrepreneur experts
- Harvard Business School: Working KnowledgeShort reports from HBS faculty and researchers
- Motley FoolThe Motley Fool exists, they say, to "educate, amuse and enrich." Several helpful sections for the beginning investor, such as the "13 steps to investing", and the articles in the section "Valuing Stocks"
- North American Industry Classification SystemDeveloped jointly by the U.S., Mexico, and Canada. Links to NAIC based statistics; NAIC codes list (Formerly: SIC codes)
- U.S. Uniform Commercial CodeRules for contract law
- U.S. Government Printing OfficeGovernment documents: U.S. Code, Federal Register
- U.S. Patent and Trademark OfficeDatabase with summaries of patents. Advice on how to apply for a patent is provided
Company Profiles are available from the Business Source Premier database. Click on the link, in the upper left corner of the search page:
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for over 3,000 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and more.
- S&P NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowFull text of many S&P products, including the Stock Reports, Corporation Records, Industry Surveys, and more.
- Better Business BureauCheck out the 'reliability' of a company, that is, if any complaints were filed with the Bureau recently, or, if the company is a member of the BBB.
- Company ProfilesMarketLine company profiles, from the Business Source Premier database. *Requires PCC login
- EDGAR Database of Corporate InformationElectronic Data Gathering Analysis and Retrieval. Provides up to date SEC filings. Financial reports filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission are available through a variety of search interfaces. 10-K reports are the annual statement of a corporation's revenue and income. 10-Q reports are the quarterly reports
- EDGAR visualized, via Rank and FiledIncludes a clickable map. For best results, confirm data with the EDGAR site from the SEC
- MarketLine Industry ProfilesAdd additional search terms, such as country name, or industry. (Available through the Business Source Premier database)
- U.S. Census BureauSearch by place name to receive census data
Business in Oregon
- Oregon Business ChannelBrief profiles of Oregon based corporations, public and private. Rankings. Current business headlines
- Oregon Business CouncilLink to the Oregon Business Plan, and other policy statements.
- Oregon Business Ethics award winnersAwarded annually by the Rotary Club, the awards recognize local businesses and individuals who have held to high standards of ethical behavior
- Portland Business AllianceChamber information; locate area businesses; publications
- Prosper Portland (formerly: Portland Development Commission)Documents, interactive maps, news updates, for urban renewal and economic development in the Portland area