Business: Find Articles
Guide to research and resources related to Business Administration
Find Articles
- EBSCO - BusinessSearch EBSCO for business news, articles, and other information in these databases: Business Source Premier, Legal Collection, Regional Business News, and Newspaper Source
- Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive and easy to navigate collection of over 4,000 leading business and trade publications. Incorporates coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.
- Economics and Theory (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowThis collection from Gale provides periodicals focusing on topics in economics. It has more than 450 full-text journals and regular feeds of videos from Forbes.com that contain business news coverage and interviews with CEO's
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new windowBrings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Find detailed company and industry news and information for location and international firms
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for over 3,000 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and more.
- New York Times (Articles Only) This link opens in a new windowContent from nytimes.com, New York Times blogs, and the New York Times newspaper from 1980 to the present. Day-by-day business news. Does not include stock quotes or classified ads.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowA full text news wire database that incorporates business wires from all over the world
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers from five U.S. national and regional newspapers: New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and the Chicago Tribune
Find Articles with Google Scholar
Before searching, be sure to set PCC as your library in your browser by:
- Visiting the link to set "Library Links" settings for Google Scholar,
- using the search box to search for "Portland Community College",
- checking the check box that appears underneath the search to select “Portland Community College – Find it @ PCC”,
- and then selecting the Save button.
This will ensure that when you search Google Scholar in your browser, you will see Find It @ PCC links to full text if we have the article (Google Scholar sometimes also provides links to other free sources for full text).
You can learn more about setting Google Scholar preferences on the PCC Library Website.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar searches the web for scholarly articles, reports, books, and other materials. If using Google Scholar from a PCC campus, you can access full text articles. If PCC has access to an article, a "Find it @ PCC" link will appear to the right of the search result. Click “Find it @ PCC” to go to the library catalog where you will be offered a choice to view the article. From home, you will need to set your Google Scholar preferences to access PCC Library resources. See How to Search PCC Library on Google Scholar for directions on how to set your Google Scholar preferences at home.
Find a Specific Article
How to figure out if PCC has a specific article and (if we do) get the full-text:
- Use the PCC Library search box in the middle of the Library homepage to search for the title of the journal in which it was published (NOT the article title). TIP: If you don't know the title of the journal, try searching for the article title and the author(s) in Google to get that information.
- Find the journal title in the results list. If you find a result that says "Online Access" or "Available at" and a PCC campus location, that means it is available through the PCC Library. If it is available online, click on the Online Access link to be taken to full-text online database access for that journal. If it is available in print, click on the "Available at" link to find the location of the journal in the library.
- You should now be able to browse to the year and issue you want or to search the journal for the specific article title.
If PCC does not have access to full-text, you can request the article from another library.
Business Journals
Scholarly and trade journals for Business. Browse issues in full text. Databases provide generated citations for articles, the ability to email articles, and other tools. These titles also are available on the web, but may require subscription access.
- Black EnterpriseBusiness magazine for black professionals, business people, college students and corporate executives.
- BusinessWeekReports on news, ideas and trends affecting industry and the economy for those in business management, with national and international coverage.
- Consumer ReportsPresents articles on health, public safety, marketplace economics and the regulatory actions that affect consumers.
- EconomistA weekly newsmagazine of world politics and current affairs, business, finance and science published in London, England.
- ForbesFor corporate officers and other major executives in business interested in developing management insight through review of the nation's largest corporations.
- FortuneGives top executives, and those working to reach senior positions in business information on the economic, political and social trends that affect the environment of business.
- Harvard Business ReviewWritten for upper level management. Presents analysis of management problems and helpful commentary on advanced thinking and practice in all fields of management and administration.
- IncPresents articles on financial & personnel management, marketing, administration, sales and operations for executives & managers of small to mid-sized companies.
- Journal of Small Business ManagementArticles, notes and other features on subjects of current professional interest in the fields of small business management and entrepreneurship aimed at small business readers and their advisers. Selected articles from the current issue are available in PDF from the publisher's website.
- Kiplinger's Personal FinanceFinance and economics.
- OfficeProArticles, interviews, commentary, product reviews, and news of note for the professional office administrator
- Portland Business JournalNews on the local business scene. Annual list of top companies in the Portland, Oregon area (Book of Lists)
If you don't find full-text
If the article you have found in a library database doesn't have the full text right there, click on the "Find It" button to see if the article is available in full-text in another database. The "Find It" button will look like this. 
If we do have it, it will take you to a page that provides you a link to the database in which the article is available (click on that link to access the article).
If we do not have it, you will see a "Get it" button to request a digital copy (PDF) of the article, which takes approximately 24 hours. The digital copy will be delivered to you via email.
