Early Childhood Education: Find Articles
Find Articles
Search these databases to find articles on topics related to early education and family studies.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 4,500 scholarly social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. 3,700 are peer-reviewed.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowA highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals, designed for professional educators.
- Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowA collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports for any educator -- from the school teacher and administrator to those studying at the collegiate and graduate level.
- ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new windowERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center from the U.S. Dept. of Education, lists journal articles and educational documents (lesson plans, studies, etc.). 1966 - present.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowStart here if you are looking for scholarly (peer-reviewed) psychology articles. PsycINFO is the single most comprehensive psychology article collection. Full-text articles from PsycARTICLES are included here. View the PsycINFO handout [pdf].
If you don't find full-text
If the article you have found in a library database doesn't have the full text right there, click on the "Find It" button to see if the article is available in full-text in another database. The "Find It" button will look like this. 
If we do have it, it will take you to a page that provides you a link to the database in which the article is available (click on that link to access the article).
If we do not have it, you will see a "Get it" button to request a digital copy (PDF) of the article, which takes approximately 24 hours. The digital copy will be delivered to you via email.
Find Books, Articles, DVDs, and more
Video: Find Articles through the PCC Library
Types of Articles
There are many different types of articles. The chart below can help you figure out which type(s) you're looking for or identify an article you've already found:
 |
News articles provide the most current information. Certain newspapers, such as the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times, are also known for thoughtful, in-depth analyses of important topics and events. |
 |
Popular magazine articles can help you generate ideas about issues, controversies, or unanswered questions about a topic, which you might want to explore further. They sometimes refer to studies or scholarly work that you can track down for more information. |
 |
Trade publications are written by and for professionals within an industry. These are an excellent source of very specific information from inside the field. |
 |
Scholarly journal articles go through a process of peer review before they are published. They are written by experts in the field (the people with letters after their name!) and their purpose is to advance the ongoing body of work within the discipline. These articles might present original research data and findings, or take a position on a key question within the field. They can be difficult to read, because their intended audience is other experts and academics, but they are at the top of the line when it comes to authoritative information. |