Addiction Counseling: Find Articles
Finding Articles on Specific Topics
This page provides information on where to search for journal, magazine, and newspaper articles by topic or subject. Here are some tips for searching in a library article database:
- Try not to use more than three search terms, joined by "and". For example: e-cigarettes and adolescents and addiction.
- Put quotation marks around words that you want to keep together in your search. For example: "case study".
- Use the limiters available on the results screen to limit to a specific type of publication. For example "peer-reviewed" or "magazines".
- Try multiple searches using a variety of search terms.
Video: What are Library Databases and Why do you Need Them?
What is Peer Review?
Alt Text for What is Peer Review Infographic PCC LibGuidesThis is longform alt text for the "What is Peer Review?" Infographic.
Tutorial: How To Read a Scientific Article
Found a peer reviewed journal article, and can't figure out what the heck it's about? Check out this 4 minute video on how to read and understand a peer-reviewed article (hint: it isn't from beginning to end!)
Recommended databases for published articles
For published journal articles about addiction, treatment, research and theory, begin with these databases. Each database contains articles from both magazine and peer reviewed journals. You can limit your search to one or the other.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowSearch from a wide range of research databases for magazine and journal articles. Updated daily. View the EBSCOhost handout
Mobile URL: EBSCOhost Mobile
- Health and Medicine Resources (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSearch EBSCOhost's health and medicine related databases: Alt HealthWatch, CINAHL Plus, MedicLatina, MEDLINE, and Academic Search Premier and MasterFILE Premier at the same time. Topics include addiction, recovery, trauma, consumer health information, aging, and more.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowSearch a wide variety of diverse content across many subject areas, including social sciences, addiction, health and medicine. You'll find news, magazine and journal articles, as well as eBooks, videos and audio files.
- Psychology Resources This link opens in a new windowIncludes articles from EBSCOhost databases: Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, PsycINFO, Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, and a reference eBook collection.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull text for over 890 peer reviewed health and life sciences journals. For best results go to Advanced Search and select Psychology in the list of SUBJECTs. Limit your search to SUBSCRIBED Journals in order to get full text.
- PLOS (Public Library of Science): MedicinePeer reviewed articles that are free to access, reuse and redistribute. PLOS Medicine is a subset of the PLOS.
- PubMedPubMed contains 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Full text not available? Use PCC Library Interlibrary Loan to request the article, and receive it in 3-5 days.
Database search tips
Search tips for most library databases & web searching:
- search tip: use an asterisk* to find various endings of a word root, ex. addict* will find addict, addicts, addiction, addicted, addictive.
- search tip: put "quotation marks" around phrases, ex. "control group".
- search tip: look for a way to limit your search by publication type, for example "Magazines" or "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals".
Find Articles with Google Scholar
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches the web for scholarly articles, reports, books, and other materials. From home, you will need to set your Google Scholar preferences to access PCC Library resources. Setting the Library Links to PCC will ensure that when you search Google Scholar in your browser, you will see Find It @ PCC links to full text if we have the article. To learn how, visit the first page of this handout.
If PCC has access to an article, a "Find it @ PCC" link will appear to the right of the article title. Click “Find it @ PCC” to go to the library catalog where you will be offered a choice to view the article.
Google Scholar sometimes also provides links to other free sources for full text.