Addiction Counseling: Books, eBooks, Videos
Find Books, Articles, DVDs, and more
Catalog Searches
The following links will take you to books, ebooks, evideos and other library materials related to addiction and counseling in the library catalog:
Video: How to search for books at PCC Library
Learn how to use Portland Community College Library's search to find books and other items at PCC Library.
Featured eBook Titles
Featured titles in your subject area:
-
The Addiction Solution
by
This book is a practical guide to understanding the world of drug use, abuse, and treatment from one of our nation's foremost addiction and mental health experts. Written with warmth, accessibility, and authority, it brings together scientific and clinical knowledge, policy suggestions, and case studies--paving a way toward recovery and health for families and communities suffering from the addiction epidemic. -
The American Opioid Epidemic
by
The American Opioid Epidemic: From Patient Care to Public Health provides practicing psychiatrists, trainees, and other mental health professionals with the latest information on opioid addiction, including misuse of heroin and other illicit opioids, the role of prescription analgesic opioids, and recent overdose trends. -
Group Work with Populations at Risk
by
This skills focused group work book equips students and practitioners to address the needs of a wide range of under-served populations. Particular attention is paid to building skills for serving a wide range of social and emotional client needs across the lifespan in a variety of settings. -
Mothers, Addiction and Recovery
by
This anthology is a collection of personal accounts, research, treatment approaches and policy commentary exploring women’s experiences of mothering in the context of addiction.
Find Background Articles on Your Topic
Start your research by making sure you understand the basics about your topic. Find background and overview articles on specific drugs and aspects of addiction through these two ebook databases. The Gale eBooks database includes the Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive Behavior.
-
Gale Ebooks (formerly GVRL) This link opens in a new windowGale eBooks has over 200 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Look here for biology, chemistry, nursing and medicine, sociology, history, education, law, and more.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides online versions of 500 published reference works, including general and specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias. Try the Concept Map to search for terms and topics that are interconnected and displayed in a visual form. View the "How to search Credo Reference" tutorial.
Getting a book we don't have
If we don't have a book, chances are we can get it for you!
When you find an item with a "Find and request" message that means the book is not in our collection or is checked out.
You may be able to request the book from a library in our region using the blue "Get it" buttons to request a physical copy of the book or digital chapters from the book. Click on the book you want, and if you don't see "Get it" buttons to request a physical or digital copy of the book, you will need to log in with your MyPCC username and password after you click the blue "Sign in" button.
Physical Item Requests
Requested physical items can be delivered to any PCC Library at no cost for pick-up in the amount of time listed in the "Get it from other locations" section (usually 7 days). An email to your MyPCC account will notify you when your item is ready for pick up. Items must be picked up within seven calendar days after they are available. Return your borrowed items to any PCC library.
Digital Chapter Requests
Requested digital items (such as book chapters) should be delivered via email in the amount of time listed in the "Get it from other locations" section (often 24 hours). You will receive requested PDFs via email.