Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Clinical Guidelines and Reference
Find clinical guidelines, basic information about diseases, conditions and drugs.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for staff nurses, nurse administrators, nursing students and nurse educators. Includes disease and condition overviews, care sheet summaries, nursing skills and procedures, treatment options, drug information, continuing education and much more.
Guideline Central Summaries
An online database compiling clinical guideline summaries from different reliable sources; organized by category, specialty, etc. There is also a free app.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Provides standards and recommendations on health interventions, disease control and prevention, etc.
Health information from the National Library of Medicine. Access to health topics, medical dictionaries, directories and publications.
The Merck Manual is available free, browseable by table of contents.
PubMed Advanced Search for Guidelines
Under "Builder" select "Publication type" then enter: Guideline.
Combine this search with relevant keywords. Not all guidelines will be available free with full text.
Search these collections to find articles related to allied-health topics.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive source for nursing and allied health journals including nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, medicine, general health and more.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Offers researchers looking for answers to nursing or allied health questions millions of articles found in over 1,100 journals. Provides full-text coverage of many of the titles cited in CINAHL.
Health and Medicine Resources (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Search EBSCOhost's Alt HealthWatch, CINAHL Plus, MedicLatina, MEDLINE, and others (including Academic Search Premier and MasterFILE Premier) at the same time. Topics include consumer health information, nursing and allied health, pre-clinical sciences, aging, and more.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature on biomedicine, including allied health. Citations available from 1965 - present; some full text.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 1,000 peer-reviewed life sciences, Health Science, physical sciences, and engineering journals with citation information for thousands more. Look for the "Full-text available" indicators to view articles online. View the Science Direct handout
Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text for over 180 publications (many peer-reviewed) covering alternative and complementary medicine.
MedicLatina This link opens in a new window
A Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. Full text for more than 130 peer-reviewed medical journals.
Find Articles with Google Scholar
Before searching, be sure to set PCC as your library in your browser by:
- Visiting the link to set "Library Links" settings for Google Scholar,
- using the search box to search for "Portland Community College",
- checking the check box that appears underneath the search to select “Portland Community College – Find it @ PCC”,
- and then selecting the Save button.
This will ensure that when you search Google Scholar in your browser, you will see Find It @ PCC links to full text if we have the article (Google Scholar sometimes also provides links to other free sources for full text).
You can learn more about setting Google Scholar preferences on the PCC Library Website.
Google Scholar searches the web for scholarly articles, reports, books, and other materials. If using Google Scholar from a PCC campus, you can access full text articles. If PCC has access to an article, a "Find it @ PCC" link will appear to the right of the search result. Click “Find it @ PCC” to go to the library catalog where you will be offered a choice to view the article. From home, you will need to set your Google Scholar preferences to access PCC Library resources. See How to Search PCC Library on Google Scholar
for directions on how to set your Google Scholar preferences at home.
The following list includes journals related to nursing:
Peer-reviewed journal featuring news including workplace issues, job security and career trends, nursing practice, health care policy and legislation, political action and more.
Applied Nursing Research
Peer-reviewed research articles for clinical applications in all nursing specialties. Regularly includes features such as "Ask the Experts," research briefs, clinical methods, book reviews, news and announcements, and an editorial section.
Critical Care Nurse
Peer-reviewed journal which publishes practical, clinically relevant manuscripts describing care of critically ill patients & their families. Provides information concerning the bedside care of critically & acutely ill patients.
Journal of Clinical Nursing
International, peer reviewed, scientific journal publishing resources on all aspects of nursing and midwifery practice. Coverage includes topics such as ambulatory care, community care, family care, home, hospital, practice, primary and secondary, and public health.
Journal of Gerontological Nursing
Investigating all aspects of gerontological nursing with original clinical articles and the latest research. Features sections on geropsychiatry, legal issues, book reviews, and relevant clinical products.
Journal of Pediatric Nursing
Provides original, peer-reviewed research that is based on the philosophy that pediatric nursing incorporates a family-centered approach.
Supports adult health/medical-surgical nurses in patient care, private practice, and outpatient health care settings in urban, suburban, and rural locations. Features include peer-reviewed articles, comprehensive discussion, and description of today's clinical issues in adult health/medical-surgical nursing.
Peer reviewed articles covering policy issues, debates, & controversies relating to ethical and legal questions faced by health care professionals.
Open Nursing Journal
Open access, peer-reviewed, international journal focusing on issues affecting nursing practice, research, education, and the wider health care sector.
HCUPnet is a free, on-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.
World Health Organization
WHO is an excellent source of global health information, including statistics and country-by-country health overviews. Search WHOLIS to find full-text health information.