Anthropology: Find Articles
Find Articles
Search these databases to find articles on topics related to anthropology. I would also suggest looking at the full list of library databases, as anthropological research can be multidisciplinary. Some research projects might require searching areas such as medicine, gender studies, gerontology, pop culture, and psychology, for which we have specific subject databases.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 4,500 scholarly social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. 3,700 are peer-reviewed.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR has full text of over 1000 scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, as far back as 18xx up to 3-5 years ago. Note: It does not include current issues of the journals. All ARTstor image collections are now part of JSTOR, and can be searched using the "Images" tab then selecting "ARTstor collections".
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar searches the web for scholarly articles, reports, books, and other materials. You will need to add PCC as your library in your Google Scholar preferences to get links to PCC Library resources.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowUseful for research in physical anthropology and more scientific topics. Full text for more than 1,000 peer-reviewed life sciences, Health Science, physical sciences, and engineering journals with citation information for thousands more.
Anthropology Research Tutorial
This interactive tutorial will help you find quality sources for your research assignments in Anthropology using Library databases and Google Scholar.
Video: Find Articles through the PCC Library
Video: Finding Quality Sources with Google Scholar
Types of Articles
There are many different types of articles. The chart below can help you figure out which type(s) you're looking for or identify an article you've already found:
 |
News articles provide the most current information. Certain newspapers, such as the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times, are also known for thoughtful, in-depth analyses of important topics and events. |
 |
Popular magazine articles can help you generate ideas about issues, controversies, or unanswered questions about a topic, which you might want to explore further. They sometimes refer to studies or scholarly work that you can track down for more information. |
 |
Trade publications are written by and for professionals within an industry. These are an excellent source of very specific information from inside the field. |
 |
Scholarly journal articles go through a process of peer review before they are published. They are written by experts in the field (the people with letters after their name!) and their purpose is to advance the ongoing body of work within the discipline. These articles might present original research data and findings, or take a position on a key question within the field. They can be difficult to read, because their intended audience is other experts and academics, but they are at the top of the line when it comes to authoritative information. |
If you don't find full-text
If the article you have found in a library database doesn't have the full text right there, click on the "Find It" button to see if the article is available in full-text in another database. The "Find It" button will look like this. 
If we do have it, it will take you to a page that provides you a link to the database in which the article is available (click on that link to access the article).
If we do not have it, you will see a "Get it" button to request a digital copy (PDF) of the article, which takes approximately 24 hours. The digital copy will be delivered to you via email.
Useful Web Sources
- American Indian Film GalleryGallery of vintage motion pictures on the American Indian experience, free of charge for viewing and downloading for educational purposes.
- Archaeology Data ServiceIts archives contains fieldwork documents and other grey literature.
- Ethnographic Resources related to Folklore, Anthropology, Ethnomusicology, and the HumanitiesCollection of resources in anthropology, ethnomusicology, folklore, and folklife from the Library of Congress. Categories include archives and museums, directories, fieldwork, and more.
- National Anthropological ArchivesCollects and preserves historical and contemporary anthropological materials that document the world's cultures and the history of anthropology. Their collections represent the four fields of anthropology – ethnology, linguistics, archaeology, and physical anthropology – and include fieldnotes, journals, manuscripts, correspondence, photographs, maps, sound recordings, film and video created by Smithsonian anthropologists and other preeminent scholars.
- Oregon History & Archaeology LibraryStatewide historical and archaeological information.
- Public Archaeology Skills & StrategiesThis compilation of references presents articles, books, videos, and other printed and electronic sources that are useful in understanding efforts in the sharing archaeological information with the public.
- Washington Information System for Architectural and Archaeological Records Data (WISAARD)WISAARD is a searchable GIS map tool and database of over 1800 registered historical sites and over 300,000 inventoried sites including images, a summary of the significance, and a link to the nomination document.