COMM 111 Smith: Peer-Reviewed Articles
Peer Reviewed Articles from Academic Journals
Find peer reviewed articles on your topic through library databases or GoogleScholar. This part of the research process can be challenging, and librarians are available to help! Get help from a librarian.
Peer reviewed articles -- the basics
First, watch this three minute video to understand the basics of peer review. Then follow the links under the video to learn some essential tips for reading and understanding a peer reviewed article.
Reading Peer Reviewed Journal Articles
Need to find research articles from peer-reviewed science journals for a class project? These tutorials will get you started.
-
What is a Peer Reviewed Article?This handout describes the peer review process, and characteristics of peer reviewed articles.
-
How to read a scholarly article: Anatomy of an articleFrom Technological University of the Shannon Library, Ireland
-
The Anatomy of a Scientific Article3:45 minute video tutorial from UC Denver
-
How To Read a Scholarly Journal Article5:10 minute video from Kishwaukee College Library
What is Peer Review?
-
Alt Text for What is Peer Review Infographic PCC LibGuidesThis is longform alt text for the "What is Peer Review?" Infographic.
Some Library Databases for Peer-Reviewed Articles
There are over 70 library article databases that contain peer-reviewed articles. Below are a few you might start with. Ask a librarian if you need help!
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 4,500 scholarly social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. 3,700 are peer-reviewed.
-
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowAcademic OneFile is a starting point for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, it contains millions of articles available in full-text. Includes full-text New York Times content from 1995 to present.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR has full text of over 1000 scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, as far back as 18xx up to 3-5 years ago. Note: It does not include current issues of the journals. All ARTstor image collections are now part of JSTOR, and can be searched using the "Images" tab then selecting "ARTstor collections".
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 1,000 peer-reviewed life sciences, Health Science, physical sciences, and engineering journals with citation information for thousands more. Look for the "Full-text available" indicators to view articles online. View "How to Use Science Direct" .
-
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowSearch from a wide range of research databases for magazine and journal articles. Updated daily. View the EBSCOhost handout
Mobile URL: EBSCOhost Mobile -
ProQuest This link opens in a new windowSearch a wide variety of diverse content across all disciplines. Includes subject area searches for the Arts, eBooks, Health & Medicine, History, Literature & Language, News & Newspapers, Science & Technology, and Social Sciences.
Video: Finding Quality Sources with Google Scholar
Find Articles with Google Scholar
Before searching, be sure to set PCC as your library in your browser by:
- Visiting the link to set "Library Links" settings for Google Scholar,
- using the search box to search for "Portland Community College",
- checking the check box that appears underneath the search to select “Portland Community College – Find it @ PCC”,
- and then selecting the Save button.
This will ensure that when you search Google Scholar in your browser, you will see Find It @ PCC links to full text if we have the article (Google Scholar sometimes also provides links to other free sources for full text).
You can learn more about setting Google Scholar preferences on the PCC Library Website.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar searches the web for scholarly articles, reports, books, and other materials. If using Google Scholar from a PCC campus, you can access full text articles. If PCC has access to an article, a "Find it @ PCC" link will appear to the right of the search result. Click “Find it @ PCC” to go to the library catalog where you will be offered a choice to view the article. From home, you will need to set your Google Scholar preferences to access PCC Library resources. See How to Search PCC Library on Google Scholar for directions on how to set your Google Scholar preferences at home.