ENG 104-106 Sherwood HS - Putney: Find commentary and analysis for poems and novels
Get started with background information
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowA great place to begin! Credo provides articles from general and specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias. Try the Concept Map to search for terms and topics that are interconnected and displayed in a visual form.
Look for links to other PCC Library databases to continue your research. -
Gale Ebooks (formerly GVRL) This link opens in a new windowUse Gale eBooks to find biographical information about poets and writers. Also get background information about events, movements, and time periods.
PCC Library databases for finding published articles
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR has articles from over 1000 scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, including history and literature. Note: It does not include current issues of the journals. View the JSTOR handout
-
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles about a poem or novel by entering the title with quotation marks around it. For example, "poisonwood bible".
-
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowFind articles on a wide range of topics from magazines and academic journals. Include history, literary analysis, interviews and biographic information. View the EBSCOhost handout
Find Articles with Google Scholar
Before searching, be sure to set PCC as your library in your browser by:
- Visiting the link to set "Library Links" settings for Google Scholar,
- using the search box to search for "Portland Community College",
- checking the check box that appears underneath the search to select “Portland Community College – Find it @ PCC”,
- and then selecting the Save button.
This will ensure that when you search Google Scholar in your browser, you will see Find It @ PCC links to full text if we have the article (Google Scholar sometimes also provides links to other free sources for full text).
You can learn more about setting Google Scholar preferences on the PCC Library Website.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar searches the web for scholarly articles, reports, books, and other materials. If using Google Scholar from a PCC campus, you can access full text articles. If PCC has access to an article, a "Find it @ PCC" link will appear to the right of the search result. Click “Find it @ PCC” to go to the library catalog where you will be offered a choice to view the article. From home, you will need to set your Google Scholar preferences to access PCC Library resources. See How to Search PCC Library on Google Scholar for directions on how to set your Google Scholar preferences at home.
Advanced Google Searching
One of the best features of Google's Advanced Search is the ability to limit your search to the areas of the web where the information may be more reliable, such as education sites or government sites. The shortcut for this is to add site:edu or site:gov to your regular Google search. Plenty of .com and .org resources are reliable, like news organizations and think-tanks that produce research and data. Using site:edu or site:gov is particularly useful when your Google search results in a lot of links to websites that are trying to sell you something or that seem of low quality.
For example, if you conduct an ordinary Google search for nutritional supplements, most of your top results will be commercial (.com) sites trying to sell you vitamins. If you search for nutritional supplements site:gov , the top results (except for the sponsored ads) will be sites such as the National Institute of Health and the Food and Drug Administration, which are not trying to sell you a product.* If you search for nutritional supplements site:edu, your top results will be from universities providing research on nutritional supplements.
*Some government websites have experienced the removal of content by the Trump administration, including information about climate, environment, gender, diversity, gun violence and healthcare. Researchers are always advised to verify information by checking multiple sources. Contact a librarian for assistance evaluating content found on government or other websites and locating archived data.
How to Read Literaure
-
How to Read Literature Like a Professor Revised
by
Call Number: READ ONLINEISBN: 9780062344205Publication Date: 2014While books can be enjoyed for their basic stories, there are often deeper literary meanings beneath the surface. How to Read Literature Like a Professor helps us to discover those hidden truths by looking at literature with the practiced analytical eye--and the literary codes--of a college professor. What does it mean when a protagonist is traveling along a dusty road? When he hands a drink to his companion? When he's drenched in a sudden rain shower? Thomas C. Foster provides answers to these questions as he explores every aspect of fiction, from major themes to literary models, narrative devices, and form. -
How to Read Literature Like a Professor Revised Edition
by
ISBN: 9780062301673Publication Date: 2014This is a print book. You can request to pick it up at the PCC campus library nearest you.
Find Books
You can search the library's collection for books about a specific author or piece of writing with a simple keyword search. For example:
Barbara Kingsolver (this search is limited to Online Resources)
or
dylan thomas poetry (this search is limited to Online Resources)
If you begin with a keyword search, you can then limit to Online Resources on the left side of the screen. This will bring up ebooks and streaming videos from PCC Library.
Find Books, Articles, DVDs, and more
Looking for ebooks?
The PCC Library provides access to many ebooks. To find ebooks in the library:
-
Enter a search in the main search box on the library homepage.
-
On the results page, on the left-hand side of the page, find the Format section and check the eBooks box.
-
Click the Apply Filters button.
-
To access an ebook, click the Online Access link under the title information.
Getting a book PCC Library doesn't have
When you find an item with a "Find and request" message that means the book is not in the PCC Library collection or is checked out.
Click on the title of the book you are interested in, and the select the blue "Sign in" button to log in with your MyPCC user name and password. Use the blue "Get it" button to either request the book from another library or to request to have one chapter from the book scanned and emailed to you.
If you don't see "Get it" buttons to request a physical or digital copy of the book, you will need to log in with your MyPCC username and password after you click the blue "Sign in" button.
Physical Item Requests
Requested physical items can be delivered to any PCC Library at no cost for pick-up in the amount of time listed in the "Get it from other locations" section (usually 7 days). An email to your MyPCC account will notify you when your item is ready for pick up. Items must be picked up within seven calendar days after they are available. Return your borrowed items to any PCC library.
Digital Chapter Requests
Requested digital items (such as book chapters) should be delivered via email in the amount of time listed in the "Get it from other locations" section (often 24 hours). You will receive requested PDFs via email.
Learn more at our "Requesting Library Materials" page.
Suggested ebooks
-
The Poetry Handbook
by
ISBN: 1435607104Publication Date: 2005The Poetry Handbook is a lucid and entertaining guide to the poet's craft, and an invaluable introduction to practical criticism for students. Chapters on each element of poetry, from metre to gender, offer a wide-ranging general account.
