Math: Fun!
This guide provides resources for students in PCC Math classes. Use the tabs to navigate through the other pages of the guide:
Math Fiction: lists of books
Math can be the key to a plot, in a novel, or a featured device that keeps an exciting story moving. These titles cut across all kinds of genres-- science fiction, action, romance, biography -- and show that math can not only be fun but critically important.
- Math Fiction from GoodReadsGrowing list of books which feature math themes
Math in Movies: Lists and streaming video databases
PCC Libraries may own DVD copies of some of these movies-- use the Library Search box (top right of this page) to search titles.
Some movies might also be available through the video streaming databases, listed below.
For older movies, try searching YouTube like this: | Dot and the Line full movie |
- Films About MathematicsCategory list
- List of Films about Mathematicians [and Math]Movie titles, with short descriptions about how math is featured
- List of Films about MathematiciansFrom the Internet Movie Database
- Mathematics in MoviesLots of clips from movie scenes about math. From Harvard.
- Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new windowStreaming videos organized by subject, for academic research as well as general interest. Contains many genres, from documentaries to movies to training videos. Publishers include BBC, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection, First Run Features, New Day Films, PBS, etc.
Note: Kanopy does not support Windows 7 and Internet Explorer. If you are having trouble viewing Kanopy videos, you may need to upgrade or change your browser. See What Desktop Browsers and Systems are Supported by Kanopy and How to Troubleshoot Browser Issues for additional help. - Swank Feature Films Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of feature films being taught by PCC faculty in film courses.
Applications: Math in Real Life-- websites
Math is needed for cooking? Sure. Budgeting? Right. Sample size and surveys? Of course. But there are many more ways where math is essential for work, art, and success.
- Applications of mathematicsFrom Mathigon. Search by industry or topic
- Get the Math -- challengesGaming to learn algebraic reasoning
- Math in Real LifeTedEd
- Mathematics, from the New York TimesCurrent discoveries, curiosities
Find Books, Articles, DVDs, and more
Popular Math Books
Change Is the Only Constant: The Wisdom of Calculus in a Madcap World by Call Number: Southeast: 515.01 O75c
Math Without Numbers by Call Number: Cascade 510 B44M
