Hip Hop History and Cultural Influence
This guide is intended to be a starting point for locating resources to learn about the history of hip hop and it's cultural influence.
Selected books on Hip Hop
God Save the Queens by Publication Date: 2019
Listen to Hip Hop! by Publication Date: 2021
Queer Voices in Hip Hop by Publication Date: 2022-11-02
Video: How to request a book from another library through PCC Library
Watch the video below to learn how to request library materials from PCC Library. Please visit our "Requesting Library Materials" page to learn more about how to request materials like books and videos from another library.
Magazines with reviews of musicians, albums and songs
- BillboardClick "Search within publication"
- Rolling Stone MagazineClick "Search within Publication"
- SpinJanuary 1, 2008 - September 1, 2012
News and review articles about hip hop
Looking for a review of a song, musician or album? Limit the results to "Reviews" under Document Type.
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new windowA full text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. View the Alt-Press Watch handout.
- Popular Magazines (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowFeatures full text coverage of the top 1,000 most searched magazines across Gale's InfoTrac. Current events, sports, science, health and more.
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers from five U.S. national and regional newspapers: New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and the Chicago Tribune
- New York Times Online This link opens in a new windowUnlimited access to the New York Times on NYTimes.com. See Get Started with the New York Times Online to set up your subscription through PCC Library. Once you have set up your subscription, you can go directly to NYTimes.com and sign in using your personal account.
Books about hip hop
St. James Encyclopedia of Hip Hop Culture by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1410380823The St. James Encyclopedia of Hip Hop Culture presents entries that examine the history and contributions of hip hop to American and global culture. (from the St. James... site)
Find Books, Articles, DVDs, and more
Library databases about Hip Hop
- Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowFocused on issues in popular culture. Provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. A collection of more than 100 subject-appropriate full text periodicals.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar searches the web for scholarly articles, reports, books, and other materials. If using Google Scholar from a PCC campus, you can access full text articles. If PCC has access to an article, a "Find it @ PCC" link will appear to the right of the search result. Click “Find it @ PCC” to go to the library catalog where you will be offered a choice to view the article. From home, you will need to set your Google Scholar preferences to access PCC Library resources. See How to Search PCC Library on Google Scholar for directions on how to set your Google Scholar preferences at home.