PL103 Dorton Fall2023: Option 2: Unauthorized Practice of Law Project
Option 2
The definition and scope of the "unauthorized practice of law" (UPL) is contentious, with jurisdictions taking varied approaches. For this project, you will research how other states define UPL and the giving of "legal advice." You will research legal cases and scholarship in this area of law. You will also interview at least one Oregon-based non-profit organization engaged in legal advocacy work with community members.
Drawing on your research and interview, you will write a 5-7 page policy memo proposing a new definition of UPL and legal advice that could work for Oregon. Your definition should aim to balance the goal of protecting the public from unqualified legal guidance with the need to allow qualified non-profit advocates to assist underserved groups.
Licensed Paralegals
- How States Are Using Limited Licensed Legal Paraprofessionals to Address the Access to Justice GapPublished by the ABA in 2022, and written by Tara Hughes, RP, ACP and ABA Standing Committee on Paralegals Approval Commission Member and Joyce Reichard, JD, and ABA Standing Committee on Paralegals Member
- Oregon Licensed ParalegalsFrom the Oregon State Bar
News and media coverage
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers from five U.S. national and regional newspapers: New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and the Chicago Tribune
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowSearch from a wide range of research databases for magazine and journal articles. Updated daily. View the EBSCOhost handout
Mobile URL: EBSCOhost Mobile
Legal journals
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline Academic is a government documents and legal research database. It contains over 1600 full-text legal periodicals, historical texts, and foreign and international materials. Primary legal materials include the Federal Register, U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S. Reports. U.S. Supreme court decisions, presidential documents, attorney general opinions, state and federal case law, and much more.
- LegalTrac (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text coverage of major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals.