Asian and Asian American Studies: Home
Intro
This is a guide to researching Asian and Asian American studies. It's a big topic that encompasses many cultures, lands, countries, traditions, and complicated histories. This guide will help you get started, but there's so much more to explore!
Find Books, Articles, DVDs, and more
Google Searches
One of the best features of Google's advanced search is the ability to limit your search to the areas of the web where the information is most reliable, such as education sites or government sites. The shortcut for this is to add site:edu or site:gov to your regular Google search. You can also restrict your search to a specific site. For example, if you add site:oregonlive.com to your search, you will get results from the Oregonian's website.
Search Google scholar to find scholarly and peer-reviewed articles.
Check here for instructions on setting scholar preferences, in order to link to full text articles in PCC Library's journal databases.
Library Catalog Searches- premade, by the subject!
Here are some sample searches to find books and videos in our library catalog. You can limit it to online resources by clicking on the check box next to "Full Text Online" on the left side of the screen and then clicking "Apply Filter." If you are looking for articles, use some of these search terms in one of our Databases.
Featured Titles - Print
- Minor feelings : an Asian American reckoning (Hong, 2020)
Asian Americans inhabit a purgatorial status: neither white enough nor black enough, unmentioned in most conversations about racial identity. In the popular imagination, Asian Americans are all high-achieving professionals. - Asian American histories of the United States (Choy, 2022)
An over-century-long history of Asian migration, labor, and community formation in the United States - Infamy : the shocking story of the Japanese American internment in World War II
This book provides an authoritative account of the internment of more than 120,000 Japanese-Americans and Japanese aliens during World War II. - Yellow peril! : an archive of anti-Asian fear (2014)
The "yellow peril" is one of the most long-standing and pervasive racist ideas in Western culture--indeed, this book traces its history to the Enlightenment era. The ideology persists, animating, for example, campaign commercials from the 2012 presidential election.
Leftover in China : the women shaping the world's next superpower by ISBN: 9780393254631Publication Date: 2018-02-13This book focuses on the lives of four individual women - "leftovers" from China's One child policy - to show how these women are the linchpin to China's future.
- I am a Filipino : and this is how we cook (Ponseca, 2018)
In this celebration of Filipino culture and cuisine, Ponseca and Trinidad show how Filipino food changed right along with the country's turbulent history.
Featured Titles (ebooks)
- ISBN: 1-107-11715-1
- Here to stay : uncovering South Asian American history (Rudra, 2022)
There are 3.4 million South Asian-Americans in the U.S. They are creating an identity in a nation accustomed to binary racial choices, where the common understanding is that you are either black or white. The old model of immigration follows a progression from outsider to insider, or from being a person of color to either being perceived as white or being lumped in with white citizens. - Mythologies without end : the US, Israel, and the Arab-Israeli conflict, 1917-2020 (Slater, 2020)
In 'Mythologies Without End', Jerome Slater takes stock of the conflict over time and argues that US policies in the region are largely a product of mythologies that are often flatly wrong. Because of their widespread acceptance, there have been devastating consequences to the true interests of both countries.
Featured Titles (videos)
- Asian Americans (PBS, 2020)
PBS documentary series Asian Americans is a five-hour film series that will chronicle the contributions, and challenges of Asian Americans, the fastest-growing ethnic group in America.
Librarian
Asian Studies Program at PCC
Asian Studies Focus Award
Interested in PCC's Asian Studies Focus Award?
Asia for Educators
Asia for Educators
An initiative of the Weatherhead East Asia Institute at Columbia University, this website includes timelines, primary resources, lesson plans, and more.
Article Collections (aka Databases)
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowSearch from a wide range of research databases for magazine and journal articles. Updated daily. View the EBSCOhost handout
Mobile URL: EBSCOhost Mobile - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR has full text of over 1000 scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, as far back as 18xx up to 3-5 years ago. Note: It does not include current issues of the journals. All ARTstor image collections are now part of JSTOR, and can be searched using the "Images" tab then selecting "ARTstor collections".
- Education About Asia: Online ArchivesEducation about Asia features articles on all areas of Asia, with subjects ranging from ancient cultures and literature to current events. Browse and download over 1,500 articles: feature articles, lesson plans, interviews, classroom resources, and book and film reviews.