WR 121 Alessandrelli: Find Articles
Find Articles with EBSCO
Find articles in this search of Academic Search Premier and MasterFILE Premier
Video: Find Articles through the PCC Library
Find Articles with Google Scholar
Before searching, be sure to set PCC as your library in your browser by:
- Visiting the link to set "Library Links" settings for Google Scholar,
- using the search box to search for "Portland Community College",
- checking the check box that appears underneath the search to select “Portland Community College – Find it @ PCC”,
- and then selecting the Save button.
This will ensure that when you search Google Scholar in your browser, you will see Find It @ PCC links to full text if we have the article (Google Scholar sometimes also provides links to other free sources for full text).
You can learn more about setting Google Scholar preferences on the PCC Library Website.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar searches the web for scholarly articles, reports, books, and other materials. If using Google Scholar from a PCC campus, you can access full text articles. If PCC has access to an article, a "Find it @ PCC" link will appear to the right of the search result. Click “Find it @ PCC” to go to the library catalog where you will be offered a choice to view the article. From home, you will need to set your Google Scholar preferences to access PCC Library resources. See How to Search PCC Library on Google Scholar for directions on how to set your Google Scholar preferences at home.
- Credo ReferenceProvides online versions of 500 published reference works, including general and specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias. Try the Concept Map to search for terms and topics that are interconnected and displayed in a visual form.
- Gale Ebooks (formerly GVRL)Gale Ebooks has over 200 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Look here for biology, chemistry, nursing and medicine, sociology, history, education, law, and more. Note: This database was previously called "GVRL".
- Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)Full text for more than 4,500 scholarly social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multicultural journals. 3,700 are peer-reviewed.
- AgricolaAGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library.
- Biological Science DatabaseFull text articles from 280 biology journals, many of them peer-reviewed.
- Environmental Studies (Gale in Context)Videos, interactive maps, news sources, refereed case studies, and primary source articles are included. Browseable by issue or topic as well as by location.
- Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile)Answers environmentally-related inquiries with coverage of more than 3.3 million articles from more than 700 journals and reference content from Delmar, Cengage Learning. Robust coverage of environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
- GreenFILEScholarly, government and general-interest content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- JSTORFull text of over 1000 scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, from their earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. Does not include current issues of the journals.
- ScienceDirectFull text for more than 1,000 peer-reviewed life sciences, Health Science, physical sciences, and engineering journals with citation information for thousands more. Look for the "Full-text available" indicators to view articles online.