Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Researching Everyday Objects
Below you will find some specific books and online encyclopedias to search for credible information about the object you have selected. You may also be interested in browsing for objects in the ebook below titled An Uncommon History of Common Things.
Additionally, you can take a look at books and articles on your object by using the tabs at the top of this page. (If you have chosen to write about Twinkies, you're in luck!)
Books and Videos About Everyday Objects
An Uncommon History of Common Things
From hand tools to holidays to weapons to washing machines, "An Uncommon History of Common Things" features hundreds of colorful illustrations, timelines, sidebars, and more as it explores just about every subject under the sun. This is an ebook!
101 Objects That Changed the World by
Publication Date: 2013 (video)
Our lives are so full of stuff that the average object is instantly forgettable. But, when fate and history combine, even the simplest of objects become infused with meaning --so much so that they actually change the world. This video explores the people, places, and events that have shaped who we are today with an informative and entertaining look into the great stories of the world around us.
Obsolete contains essays and entries on more than 100 alphabetized fading subjects, including Blind Dates, Mix Tapes, Getting Lost, Porn Magazines, Looking Old, Operators, Camera Film, Hitchhiking, Body Hair, Writing Letters, Basketball Players in Short Shorts, Privacy, Cash, and, yes, Books.
Take a look in PCC's two online encyclopedia collections for your object.
Simply type in the name of your object and scan through the search results. While not all objects will be represented, many will have helpful, focused encyclopedia entries.
Provides online versions of 500 published reference works, including general and specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias. Try the Concept Map to search for terms and topics that are interconnected and displayed in a visual form.
Gale Ebooks (formerly GVRL)
Gale eBooks has over 200 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Look here for biology, chemistry, nursing and medicine, sociology, history, education, law, and more.