History - Latin America: Getting Started

Latin American History - a Guide to Research

Welcome to the Research Guide on Latin American History, focusing on the peoples of South and Central America and the Caribbean. Here you will find books, articles, videos, links to archival materials, and more. Browse to get some ideas for further research and feel free to reach out if you need help finding what you need.

Catalog Searches

Click on these search terms to find related books, videos, and audio in our library collection. If you are looking for articles, try some of these search terms in the article databases.

Suggested Databases

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Search from a wide range of research databases for magazine and journal articles. Updated daily. View the EBSCOhost handout
Mobile URL: EBSCOhost Mobile
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
Full text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic minority and native press. Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials, and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Also a good source of ethnic recipes. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. View the Ethnic NewsWatch handout
Gale Ebooks (formerly GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks has over 200 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Look here for biology, chemistry, nursing and medicine, sociology, history, education, law, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR has full text of over 1000 scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, as far back as 18xx up to 3-5 years ago. Note: It does not include current issues of the journals. All ARTstor image collections are now part of JSTOR, and can be searched using the "Images" tab then selecting "ARTstor collections".
U.S. History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This collection of over 40 journals provides balanced coverage of both current thought and events in U.S. History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. Useful both to the novice historian and to the advanced academic researcher.
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
A collection of full text periodicals, reference works, and primary sources as well as scholarly analyses. Images, videos, and audio recordings bring additional perspectives to United States history from pre-colonial times to the present.