Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
As you think about your researched position paper, you may want to focus on one or more of the following: how people are affected by a specific issue, what research has been done, or what decisions have been made or could be made in order to improve a situation. This is a large collection of resources you may find useful.
Sometimes the voices of the people affected by a situation or plan are the hardest to find. Here are a few places to look!
News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Newspapers from many places
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspapers plus TV and radio news transcripts
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Alternative and independent newspapers
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers from and for specific ethnic communities
Who makes the decisions?
This may be the toughest information to find -- who makes the decisions, and how? Is it a governmental or regulatory agency, a business owner, a state legislature? Here are a few tips and links to get you started.
Database searching -- a brief introduction
Who does the research?
Experts tend to publish for other experts, so finding the research and recommendations they provide may require searching academic and trade journals. Here are a few useful databases -- but we have many more available; just ask!
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 1,000 peer-reviewed life sciences, Health Science, physical sciences, and engineering journals with citation information for thousands more. Look for the "Full-text available" indicators to view articles online. View the Science Direct handout
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Also includes Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Useful for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes 250 journals.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This collection of more than 30 journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.
Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Focused on issues in popular culture. Provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. A collection of more than 100 subject-appropriate full text periodicals.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Start here if you are looking for scholarly (peer-reviewed) psychology articles. PsycINFO is the single most comprehensive psychology article collection. Full-text articles from PsycARTICLES are included here. View the PsycINFO handout [pdf].
Where else does research happen?
Policy and research institutes conduct and publish credible research, often including polls, and advocacy on social, political, cultural or economic issues. While most policy and research institutes are non-profit organizations, some have a political or ideological slant.
The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC.
Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
Their mission is to advance the cause of peace through analysis and development of fresh policy ideas and direct engagement and collaboration with decision makers in government, business, and civil society.
The Cato Institute is a public policy research organization dedicated to the principles of individual liberty, limited government, free markets and peace.
Center for American Progess
The Center for American Progress is an independent, progressive, nonpartisan policy institute dedicated to improving the lives of all Americans.
Council on Foreign Relations
The Council on Foreign Relations (CFR) is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher.
Current polls and research on a wide variety of topics. They often track polling responses over time, so you can see shifts in public opinion.
The Heritage Foundation is a research and educational institution—a think tank—whose mission is to formulate and promote conservative public policies.
Kaiser Family Foundation
Kaiser is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is an independent center that conducts polls and studies.