WR 121 Erwert Fall 2023: Find Sources
Researching online education
This Research Essay Project requires using at least three sources of information. College-level research involves more than a simple Google search, although a web search is a great way to start. This page includes information about conducting college level research on the web and in library databases.
Web research
A web search using Google, Duck Duck Go or another favorite search engine can retrieve excellent sources of information from universities, government agencies, respected non-profit organizations and other research institutions. It can also retrieve factoids, misinformation and commercial advertising posing as information, so search carefully. This video provides tips for finding quality sources online.
- "How To Google Like A Pro! Top 10 Google Search Tips & Tricks 2020"Video tutorial (5:40 minutes, after short ad)
Recommended higher education web sites
- National Center for Educational StatisticsYour primary source for information on U.S. colleges, universities, and technical and vocational institutions, from the National Center for Education Statistics. Includes reports, publications, and statistical data.
- Brookings Institution on Higher EducationA public policy organization that researches data and trends.
- Oregon Higher Education Coordinating CommissionFrom the Oregon State Government
- Inside Higher EdA media outlet specializing in higher education. Covers current events in education. Has a good list of education focused blogs.
- College ScorecardCompare colleges on average costs, graduation rates, and salary expectations. From the U.S. Department of Education.
- PCC Institutional EffectivenessPortland Community College's site for information about students, enrollment, and accreditation.
Reliable news sources
- New York TimesAward winning journalism, center-left editorial perspective. PCC students can receive a free online subscription at pcc.edu/library/get-started-with-the-new-york-times
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers from five U.S. national and regional newspapers: New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and the Chicago Tribune
- BBCInternational news from the British Broadcasting Company
- Portland Metro and Oregon Research: NewsPCC guide to finding local news sources
- Fake NewsPCC guide to finding local news sources
Library databases
Library databases provide access to published articles from magazines, newspapers, and academic journals. Unlike some of the search results you will get from a web search, the published articles in database are almost always written by professionals and reviewed by an editor, which improves reliability. This 6 minute video offers tips for searching EBSCOHost, the library's largest article database.
Recommended databases
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowNews and information about issues in higher education. Includes academic job listings.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowTopical, full text reports on controversial issues. Each report features a summary, chronology, and bibliography. Updated weekly.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowSearch from a wide range of research databases for magazine and journal articles. Updated daily. View the EBSCOhost handout
Mobile URL: EBSCOhost Mobile - ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new windowERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center from the U.S. Dept. of Education, lists journal articles and educational documents (lesson plans, studies, etc.). 1966 - present.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowA one-stop source for information on current social issues. Includes viewpoint articles on both sides of an issue, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full text magazine and newspaper articles. View the Opposing Viewpoints handout [pdf]
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive statistical reference on the economic, social and political organization of the United States.
Searching Databases
This video offers tips and tricks to efficiently search databases for the information you are looking for.
From Yavapai College Libraries.
Brainstorming Keywords
This three minute video provides expert advice about finding effective keywords for searching library databases.