COVID-19 Offers and Resources
This guide links to resources from publishers & vendors offering free or expanded access to digital content during COVID-19. Updates will be frequent: check back for more.
- HomeToggle Dropdown
- Educational Resource OffersToggle Dropdown
- Streaming Video
- PCC Library's Open Education Resources Guide This link opens in a new window
- COVID-19 Science CollectionsToggle Dropdown
- PCC Library Resources and Help when Off-Campus This link opens in a new window
- Accessing popular books, videos, and audio online This link opens in a new window
- PCC's Tools for instructional continuity This link opens in a new window
- Free or low-cost wifi, internet, and technology
- Music, Art, and self care
ARCHIVE: Guide No Longer Being Updated.
Streaming Video: Open Access
- American Archive for Public BroadcastingA collaboration between the Library of Congress and WGBH. Contains historic programs of publicly funded radio and television across America. Dating from the 1940s to the 21st century and emanating from all regions of the nation, more than 7,000 historic public radio and television programs are now available for streaming. In addition, the website provides data records for approximately 2.5 million items inventoried by public broadcasting stations for this project.
- Common Craft Video "Packs"Videos from the Common Craft library organized into packs that focus on specific topics and make classroom teaching easier. They currently have five packs available, with more on the way: Digital Citizenship (8 videos); Research and Study Skills (12 videos); Internet Safety (11 videos); Intellectual Property (5 videos); Financial Responsibility (8 videos).
- Ken Burns in the ClassroomIncludes educational materials and guides to assist teachers interested in planning lessons around particular eras in US history and the films of Ken Burns and Florentine Films. Full-length films are no longer available at this site.
- PBS LearningMediaPBS's free videos, interactives, lesson plans, and more. Subjects include: social sciences, current events, mathematics, science, the arts, health and physical education, world languages, and more.
- PCC Library Access to Streaming VideoPCC Library already provides access to many streaming videos. Search the streaming video content available through PCC Library's subscriptions to: Academic Video Online, Films on Demand, and Kanopy.
Streaming Video: Library Databases
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new windowOver 64,000 scholarly videos in multiple subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film & cinema, health, music and dance, news and current affairs, science, and much more. Programs include documentaries, interviews, performances, news, raw footage, and archival materials. Note: Some video content in Alexander Street Video, such as Sony Classic Pictures content, is protected by DRM (Digital Rights Management) technology. Due to this DRM requirement, certain videos will not play on Apple devices or the Safari browser as they lack the technology required to play protected video.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowThousands of high-resolution streaming videos organized by subject. For academic research as well as general interest, this collection includes archival and newsreel films as well as career and technical videos.
- Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new windowStreaming videos organized by subject, for academic research as well as general interest. Contains many genres, from documentaries to movies to training videos. Publishers include BBC, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection, First Run Features, New Day Films, PBS, etc.
Note: Kanopy does not support Windows 7 and Internet Explorer. If you are having trouble viewing Kanopy videos, you may need to upgrade or change your browser. See What Desktop Browsers and Systems are Supported by Kanopy and How to Troubleshoot Browser Issues for additional help.
- Last Updated: Dec 1, 2022 4:34 PM
- URL: https://guides.pcc.edu/covidoffers
- Print Page