COVID-19 Offers and Resources
This guide links to resources from publishers & vendors offering free or expanded access to digital content during COVID-19. Updates will be frequent: check back for more.
- HomeToggle Dropdown
- Educational Resource Offers
- Streaming Video
- PCC Library's Open Education Resources Guide This link opens in a new window
- COVID-19 Science CollectionsToggle Dropdown
- PCC Library Resources and Help when Off-Campus This link opens in a new window
- Accessing popular books, videos, and audio online This link opens in a new window
- PCC's Tools for instructional continuity This link opens in a new window
- Free or low-cost wifi, internet, and technology
- Music, Art, and self care
ARCHIVE: Guide No Longer Being Updated.
PCC Library Digital Resources
PCC Library already subscribes to many ebooks and streaming videos for use in your courses. You can also find full text of articles to link to in your classes in our databases.
Some of the content has been expanded by the services we already subscribe to. This guide provides information on expansions of our subscriptions, and other publishers expanding and providing free access at this time.
If you need to know the best ways to link to digital library items in your courses, visit our "Linking to Articles, Videos, and Images" page.
You can also read a tutorial about finding ebooks and streaming video through PCC library.
Publisher Offers: General
- Annual ReviewsAnnual Reviews is a nonprofit publisher dedicated to synthesizing and integrating knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society. We at Annual Reviews have been thinking about how to help the many students, faculty and researchers that are working and studying remotely during the COVID-19 pandemic. To assist them, on Monday, March 16th we will temporarily remove access control to our content.
- Cambridge University PressCambridge University Press is offering free, online access to some of their content during the COVID-19 outbreak. Check the link above for more specifics on this offer.
- Ken Burns in the ClassroomIncludes educational materials and guides to assist teachers interested in planning lessons around particular eras in US history and the films of Ken Burns and Florentine Films. Full-length films are no longer available at this site.
- Oxford University PressYou can quickly browse all OUP resources using the discipline menu or jump straight to a specific resource collection.
- ProjectMuseProject MUSE is pleased to support its participating publishers in making scholarly content temporarily available for free on our platform. There are several publisher making ebooks and ejournals available to users.
- Taylor & Francis Books Open ArchiveThe Taylor & Francis Books Open Archive includes a selection of 250 titles that first published over 10 years ago. Browse titles across a variety of subject areas including Business & Management, Economics, Education, Geography, History, Language & Literature, Politics & International Relations, Built Environment and more.
- Taylor & Francis Open Access ResearchExplore Open Access books and book chapters published by Taylor & Francis, and discover content available across subject areas including economics, environment & sustainability, geography, history, law, media & cultural studies, politics, sociology and more.
Taylor & Francis Books Open Access titles are made available in digital format to read and download freely under a Creative Commons license.
Art
- American Archive for Public BroadcastingA collaboration between the Library of Congress and WGBH. Contains historic programs of publicly funded radio and television across America. Dating from the 1940s to the 21st century and emanating from all regions of the nation, more than 7,000 historic public radio and television programs are now available for streaming. In addition, the website provides data records for approximately 2.5 million items inventoried by public broadcasting stations for this project.
- Paris Art MuseumParis Musées, a collection of 14 museums in Paris have recently made high-res digital copies of 100,000 artworks freely available to the public on their collections website. Artists with works in the archive include Rembrandt, Monet, Picasso, Cézanne, and thousands of others.
NOTE: More database and resource suggestions on this subject can be found on our Research Guides homepage.
Economics
- Econ EdFree economics and personal finance lessons, activities, and readings in English and Spanish. Lessons are filterable by grade level (including college level.)
- EconLowDownFree platform with online courses and videos for K-12 and college classrooms.
NOTE: More database and resource suggestions on this subject can be found on our Research Guides homepage.
History
- American Archive for Public BroadcastingA collaboration between the Library of Congress and WGBH. Contains historic programs of publicly funded radio and television across America. Dating from the 1940s to the 21st century and emanating from all regions of the nation, more than 7,000 historic public radio and television programs are now available for streaming. In addition, the website provides data records for approximately 2.5 million items inventoried by public broadcasting stations for this project.
- American PanoramaDigital Atlas of America uses online GIS to explore and visualize data with maps.
- Ken Burns in the ClassroomIncludes educational materials and guides to assist teachers interested in planning lessons around particular eras in US history and the films of Ken Burns and Florentine Films. Full-length films are no longer available at this site.
NOTE: More database and resource suggestions on this subject can be found on our Research Guides homepage.
Languages
- Better ChineseBetterChinese is offering free online access for schools and individual learners, K through College.
- BrainPOP ELLProficiency-based English language learning program appropriate for all ages. Includes vocabulary, grammar, listening, and reading & writing.
- Classroom CerealFun way to teach English grammar, spelling, copyediting, etc.
- ConjuguemosPractice verbs, vocabulary and grammar in Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Korean, Latin.
- DeafverseDeafverse is a choose-your-own-adventure game that helps the user practice ASL.
- Did You Know ThatFun and informative educational videos in American Sign Language.
NOTE: More database and resource suggestions on this subject can be found on our Research Guides homepage.
Mathematics
- Data ClassroomExtending free trials as long as schools are affected by Covid-19.
- DesmosWide range of activities to help master specifics.
NOTE: More database and resource suggestions on this subject can be found on our Research Guides homepage.
Music
- American Archive for Public BroadcastingA collaboration between the Library of Congress and WGBH. Contains historic programs of publicly funded radio and television across America. Dating from the 1940s to the 21st century and emanating from all regions of the nation, more than 7,000 historic public radio and television programs are now available for streaming. In addition, the website provides data records for approximately 2.5 million items inventoried by public broadcasting stations for this project.
- Chrome Music LabSimple apps to make music in a variety of ways. All free.
- Concerts Streaming LiveA list put together from WKAR a public broadcasting system. Includes upcoming live streaming concerts from places such as South Carolina Philharmonic, Brandeis University, and Opera Grand Rapids as well as archived concerts from “Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, the Berlin Philharmonic, the Met Opera, the Detroit Symphony, pianist Igor Levit's attempt at daily performances and more”.
- Met OnDemandThe Metropolitan Opera announced that it would stream encore presentations from the award-winning Live in HD series of cinema transmissions on the company website for the duration of the closure. The new offering will begin on Monday, March 16 with the 2010 HD performance of Bizet’s Carmen. All “Nightly Met Opera Streams” will begin at 7:30pm and will remain available via the homepage of metopera.org for 20 hours. The homepage link will open the performance on the Met Opera on Demand streaming service. The performance will also be viewable on all Met Opera on Demand apps.
- Music TheoryFree lessons and interactive exercises with topics such as: Rhythm and Meter, Scales and Key Signatures, Intervals, Chords and more.
NOTE: More database and resource suggestions on this subject can be found on our Research Guides homepage.
Public Health
- American Archive for Public BroadcastingA collaboration between the Library of Congress and WGBH. Contains historic programs of publicly funded radio and television across America. Dating from the 1940s to the 21st century and emanating from all regions of the nation, more than 7,000 historic public radio and television programs are now available for streaming. In addition, the website provides data records for approximately 2.5 million items inventoried by public broadcasting stations for this project.
NOTE: More database and resource suggestions on this subject can be found on our Research Guides homepage.
STEM
- American Archive for Public BroadcastingA collaboration between the Library of Congress and WGBH. Contains historic programs of publicly funded radio and television across America. Dating from the 1940s to the 21st century and emanating from all regions of the nation, more than 7,000 historic public radio and television programs are now available for streaming. In addition, the website provides data records for approximately 2.5 million items inventoried by public broadcasting stations for this project.
- Online Resources for Science LaboratoriesA Google Sheet of virtual lab resources across the sciences. As stated on the sheet: "Please note that this is not an endorsement for any of these resources, it is just a gathering of resources. Please vet and discuss with others at your institution as to the viability/safety of what you intend to use."
NOTE: More database and resource suggestions on this subject can be found on our Research Guides homepage.
Technology and Professional Communication
NOTE: More database and resource suggestions on this subject can be found on our Research Guides homepage.
Theater
- American Archive for Public BroadcastingA collaboration between the Library of Congress and WGBH. Contains historic programs of publicly funded radio and television across America. Dating from the 1940s to the 21st century and emanating from all regions of the nation, more than 7,000 historic public radio and television programs are now available for streaming. In addition, the website provides data records for approximately 2.5 million items inventoried by public broadcasting stations for this project.
- Digital Theater PlusProvides free (for now) access to hundreds of live performances.
- Scenic and Lighting Designinteractive tools to play around with light.
NOTE: More database and resource suggestions on this subject can be found on our Research Guides homepage.
- Last Updated: Dec 1, 2022 4:34 PM
- URL: https://guides.pcc.edu/covidoffers
- Print Page