2019 Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Information and resources for people interested in learning about the 2019 Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19)
ARCHIVE: Guide No Longer Being Updated.
About this Guide
This guide was last updated in April 2021. It is meant to provide information to help with research on COVID-19, and does not provide information on how or where to get a COVID-19 vaccine.
How mRNA Vaccines work on COVID-19
How to Wear a Cloth Face Covering
Beginning Wednesday, July 1, 2020, Oregonians statewide will be required to wear face coverings in indoor public spaces. Learn more about how to wear, make, and wash a cloth face covering.
- Use of Cloth Face Coverings to Help Slow the Spread of COVID-19 from the CDCComprehensive information from the CDC about how to wear, make, and wash cloth face coverings.
Activity Risk During COVID and How to Protect Yourself and Others
- How to weigh the risk of going out in the coronavirus pandemic, in one chartA Vox article with tips on how to assess the risk of going out and what to do to protect yourself and others.
World Health Organization (WHO): Introduction to the Novel coronavirus (2019-nCov)
- Videos on the Coronavirus (COVID-19) from the WHOWatch videos from the World Health Organization (WHO) including their latest Q&A sessions on the disease; how to protect yourself and others; how the Coronavirus is affecting those who get it, and more.
General information and updates
- Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) outbreak by the WHOThe WHO's information and guidance page on COVID-19. Includes news updates, questions and answers, introductory information, and "Myth-busters" about the virus.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)The latest information from the CDC. Provides introductory information to COVID-19 (How it spreads, symptoms, etc), situation updates on cases in the US and abroad, information for travel, etc.
- Library Journal's 2019 Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) ResourcesLinks to a wide range of information re: the Novel Coronavirus. Includes links to everything from background information, to articles specifically about the coronavirus and business, China, misinformation, scientific journal articles, legal issues, and maps.
- Coronavirus COVID-19 Global Cases by Johns Hopkins CSSEThe Center for Systems Science and Engineering at Johns Hopkins University keeps this data dashboard up to date with confirmed cases, locations, deaths, and recoveries.
Local Resources
- Multnomah County Health's Novel Coronavirus Info pageDetails on what to expect and what to do from Multnomah County Health.
- Novel Coronavirus Updates (COVID-19) from the Oregon Health AuthorityThe Oregon Health Authority's update page on the Coronavirus situation in Oregon. Includes the counte of persons under monitoring and investigation, FAQs, fact sheets, and other resources. Updated weekly on Tuesdays starting March 3.
- Oregon COVID-19 Contact CollaborativeThis page provides information about Oregon's COVID-19 contact tracing efforts including what contact tracing is, what it does, and what to expect if you receive a call. It also explains the information you will NOT be asked for if you receive a call (Social Security number, immigration status, credit card or banking information).
- PCC's Coronavirus ResourcesIncludes information for students, faculty, and staff about how PCC is dealing with the Coronavirus outbreak.
- Safe + Strong OregonFrom the Oregon Health Authority. The goal of this site is to provide the clearest, most up-to-date news and resources to help Oregonians make the best decisions for their family and community regarding COVID-19. Information is provided in 12 different languages.
COVID Resources for People with Disabilities
- COVID-19 ASL ResourcesFrom the Oregon Department of Human Services, this page includes ASL video links and other resources for those who are deaf or hard of hearing.
- Deaf or Hard of Hearing COVID-19 Communication CardFrom the Oregon Health Authority, communication card to aid the deaf or hard of hearing, and those communicating with them, regarding COVID-19.
- COVID-19 Community Resources for People with DisabilitiesFind community resources from the Oregon Health Authority regarding COVID-19 for people with disabilities under the header "Community Resources for Specific Groups" and then the button "People with Disabilities".
- OR Office of Developmental Disabilities Services Video: COVID-19 Information (English)This video provides basic information about COVID-19 and safety measures in English from Oregon's Office of Developmental Disabilities.
- OR Office of Developmental Disabilities Services Video: Información sobre el COVID-19 (Español)Información sobre el COVID-19 en Español por la Oficina de Servicios para Discapacidades del Desarrollo de Oregon.
- OR Office of Developmental Disabilities Services Video: Covid-19 Stay Home Save Lives (English)A video about COVID-19 safety from Oregon's Office of Developmental Disabilities Services.
- OR Office of Developmental Disabilities Services Video: ¡Quédate en casa, salva vidas! (Español)Información sobre el COVID-19 en Español - "¡Quédate en casa, salva vidas!" por la Oficina de Servicios para Discapacidades del Desarrollo de Oregon.
- OR Office of Developmental Disabilities Services Video: COVID Reopening (English)Information about protecting yourself during Oregon's COVID 19 reopening process from the Office of Developmental Disabilities Services.
- OR Office of Developmental Disabilities Services Video: Guía de la reapertura (Español)Información sobre el COVID-19 en Español - "Guía de la reapertura" por la Oficina de Servicios para Discapacidades del Desarrollo de Oregon.
- OR Office of Developmental Disabilities Services Video: COVID-19 Contact Tracing (English)Explanation of contact tracing in Oregon during COVID-19 from the Office of Developmental Disabilities Services.
- OR Office of Developmental Disabilities Services Video: Rastreo de contactos (Español)Información sobre el COVID-19 en Español - " Rastreo de contactos" por la Oficina de Servicios para Discapacidades del Desarrollo de Oregon.
Coronavirus Information in Other Languages
- Información sobre el coronavirus (Multnomah County)
- 新型冠状病毒相关信息 (Multnomah County)
- Thông Tin Về Vi-Rút Corona (Multnomah County)
- Информация О Коронавирусе (Multnomah County)
- Lus Hmoob (Oregon Health Authority)
- ភាសាខ្មែរ (County of Los Angeles)
- العربية (Multnomah County)
- Safe + Strong OregonFrom the Oregon Health Authority. The goal of this site is to provide the clearest, most up-to-date news and resources to help Oregonians make the best decisions for their family and community regarding COVID-19. Information is provided in 12 different languages.
- COVID-19 Videos in Multiple Language from the Oregon Public Health DivisionThis YouTube playlist includes videos with information about COVID-19 from the Oregon Public Health Division in: Korean, Russian, Thai, Arabic, Vietnamese, Chuukese, Amharic, Burmese, Cantonese, Farsi, French West Africa, Japanese, Marshallese, Nepali, Rohingya, Somali, Tigrinya, and Spanish.