Polypharmacy and the Geriatric Population: Published info, PCC Library databases
PCC Library databases
PCC Library subscribes to over 130 databases. Each one is a collection of published information. Most of the databases contain published articles from a specific discipline such as medicine or psychology; a few databases contain films and images.
In order to access PCC Library databases from off-campus, you must have a PCC account. You will be prompted to log in with your MyPCC user name and the password you use to log into MyPCC.
search tip: begin your search with no more than 3 words. For example: elderly polypharmacy dementia
search tip: use an asterisk* to find various endings of a word root, ex. addict* will find addict, addicts, addiction, addicted, addictive.
search tip: put "quotation marks" around phrases, ex. "control group".
search tip: look for ways the database helps you limit your search, for example by publication type ("Magazines" or "Scholarly Journals") or by publication date.
Library databases
- Ageline This link opens in a new windowAgeLine focuses exclusively on the population aged 50 and issues of aging. It includes aging-related content from the Health Science, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy.
- Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new windowFull text for over 180 publications (many peer-reviewed) covering alternative and complementary medicine.
- Health and Medicine Resources (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSearch multiple health-related databases at the same time. Topics include consumer health information, nursing and allied health, pre-clinical sciences, aging, and more.
- Psychology Resources This link opens in a new windowSearch EBSCOhost's Psychology Collection, Academic Search Premier, and MasterFile Premier at the same time. Topics in the Psychology Collection include emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
- Gale Ebooks (formerly GVRL) This link opens in a new windowSearch signed articles from over 200 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Look here for biology, chemistry, nursing and medicine, sociology, history, education, law, and more.