Intellectual Freedom for Library Workers: Challenges to library collections

In a democracy, individuals need access to information to make decisions for themselves.  The Library Bill of Rights states that:

Libraries should provide materials and information presenting all points of view on current and historical issues. Materials should not be proscribed or removed because of partisan or doctrinal disapproval.

Libraries' commitment to intellectual freedom means that librarians purchase books and videos for the collection that they disagree with personally or even find offensive.  Libraries are not endorsing all of the items of the collection.  Rather, the items on the shelves should provide a range of perspectives so readers can educate themselves and create their own informed opinion.

Intellectual freedom also means that libraries resist efforts by groups and individuals who demand that items they find offensive be removed from the library collection.  Censorship takes away the right of an individual to decide for themselves about the content of a book or video.

Nationwide, most challenges to library books and videos take place in school or public libraries, on the grounds that children need to be protected from certain items.  College libraries, where all patrons are adults, receive fewer challenges, although they do still occur.  (Note: PCC students who are under 18 have the same rights and responsibilities as adults.)  Here are some PCC Library items which might offend some library users:

If you'd like to learn more about censorship and libraries, check out these books.  

This five minute video from the Washington Post highlights how books with BIPOC and LGBTQIA themes are being targeted.

Intellectual freedom is about more than just resisting censorship – it also is about making sure that the library collection actively includes diverse perspectives.  The libraries' information sources should reflect the diverse identities and experiences of its student body. 

The librarians who select most of the titles for the library collections strive to use the principles of diversity and inclusion to promote access to the most relevant information sources for PCC students.  You can help!  Feel free to make recommendations of books or videos that would be good additions to the library collection:  

Library materials are challenged for may reasons:  sexual content, political positions, religious views, etc.  Almost anyone can find something in the PCC Library collection to offend them.  What would you do if someone complains to you about something in the library collection?

Formal challenges to library materials are handled by library supervisors and reference librarians.  However, often patrons just want to express their views that they are offended by a particular item.  Here are some talking points that can be useful in those conversations:

"The library isn't endorsing or agreeing with all of the items in the collection.  The goal is for you to see a range of materials and make your own choice about what's best for you."

"To be educated on an issue, it's useful to see all sides of it.  Understanding an alternate view helps you make your own position stronger."

"You make some good points about why that book.video is offensive to you.  But you know, if the library removed every item that was offensive to someone, the shelves would be pretty bare."

"I can see that you don't like that book/video.  Let's find a reference librarian, who can help you find something else that you will like."

Your turn!  What would you say to this angry student?  Follow the link for this scenario.