Portland Teachers Program: Books, Movies & Articles
Find Books, Articles, DVDs, and more
Books and movies
Recommended reading for PTP students, from Deborah Cochrane.
Dr Danny Martin 5/21/09 Math Lecture, on youtube. Highly recommended by Deborah Cochrane.
Your knowledge ain't like mine, a lecture by Maisie Gholson, May 26, 2011. Another youtube video recommended by Deborah Cochrane.
Books and movies about:
- the history of the four groups on which the PTP focuses:
- issues of class and race, and education
CBEST test preparation
The Library's database called Learning Express Library includes practice tests for the Reading, Math and Writing portions of the CBEST test.
Go directly to the CBEST tests and prep book. From off campus, you must log in with your MyPCC user name and password. Set up an account in Learning Express Library (this is separate from your PCC accounts) so that you can return to tests and keep track of scores.
Recommended Films
Schooling the World: the white man's last burdenCall Number: DVD 306.43 S36 2010Publication Date: 2010"If you wanted to change an ancient culture in a generation, how would you do it? You would change the way it educates its children. The U.S. Government knew this in the 19th century when it forced Native American children into government boarding schools. Today, volunteers build schools in traditional societies around the world, convinced that school is the only way to a 'better' life for indigenous children. But is this true? What really happens when we replace a traditional culture's way of learning and understanding the world with our own? Beautifully shot on location in the Buddhist culture of Ladakh in the northern Indian Himalayas, [the film] takes a challenging, sometimes funny, ultimately deeply disturbing look at the effects of modern education on the world's last sustainable indigenous cultures."
Teached Vol. I by Call Number: DVD 370.9 T43 2011Publication Date: 2011TEACHED Volume I is comprised of the first three films of the TEACHED series: The Path to Prison, The Blame Game: Teachers Speak Out and Unchartered Territory. These films address issues related to education equality, especially as experienced by urban youth of color. The films are intended to bring communities together for thoughtful, candid discussion around long-standing race and income-based inequities in our public schools.
Recommended Articles
Cross, Beverly E. "New Racism, Reformed Teacher Education, and the Same Ole' Oppression." Educational Studies 38.3 (2005): 263-274.Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection. EBSCO. Web. 30 Sept. 2011.
This article builds on a case study about how teacher education students may actually learn racism through their program. It employs an analysis of how new racism is operationalized in today's sociopolitical contexts.
Fenwick, Tony, and Sue Saunders. "Teaching Out Prejudice - Celebrating Equality." Education Review 24.1 (2012): 61-69. Academic Search Premier. Web. 6 June 2014.
In this article the authors examine the potential of the classroom as an agency for change rather than a seat of conformity. They question why some schools are not safe spaces for their communities and look at former and current successes and failures.
Library Databases: published articles on education and social justice
Education & Psychology
EBSCOhost: Academic Search Premier & MasterFILE Premier. Full text for more than 4,500 scholarly social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals, as well as general interest periodicals. Includes peer-reviewed journal articles. You can limit your search to peer reviewed articles.
ERIC
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center from the U.S. Dept. of Education, lists journal articles and educational documents (lesson plans, studies, etc.). 1966 - present.
JSTOR
Full text of over 1000 scholarly (peer reviewed) journals in the arts and sciences, from their earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Articles on emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Full text coverage for nearly 400 scholarly and peer reviewed journals.
Social Justice and Other Issues
Diversity Studies Collection
Useful for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes 250 journals.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic minority and native press. Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials, and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Also a good source of ethnic recipes. Coverage is from 1980 to the present.
Fuente Académica
A unique collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American, South American and Spanish publishers. Full text coverage for more than 150 scholarly Spanish language journals.
Informe
A collection of Hispanic magazines with full text. Covers business, health, technology, culture, current topics and other subjects.