Small Business: Find Articles
Find Articles
The Standard and Poor's database is a useful database for researching companies and industries. It includes Industry profiles, comparison of companies in key sectors, and company data including stock performance. It is limited to publicly traded companies. The Business Insights Global database also provides company profiles, and includes some information for privately held companies.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 4,500 scholarly social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. 3,700 are peer-reviewed.
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new windowBrings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Find detailed company and industry news and information.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for over 3,000 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and more.
- Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowThis collection of more than 800 journals, 29 subject-specific Cengage Learning reference titles, and travel handbooks from Fodor's provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism fields. A great resource for curious travelers and serious researchers.
- New York Times (Articles Only) This link opens in a new windowFull text searchable content from nytimes.com and New York Times blogs from 1980 to the present.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowA full text news wire database that incorporates business wires from all over the world.
- S&P NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowFull text of many S&P products, including the Stock Reports, Corporation Records, Industry Surveys, and more.
- Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowFor business students and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories. Users will find 250 subject-appropriate full text periodicals.
- Entrepreneurship (Gale Business) This link opens in a new windowContent covers starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax and more. Includes nearly 200 business journals and reference books.
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers from five U.S. national and regional newspapers: New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and the Chicago Tribune
Find Articles with Google Scholar
Before searching, be sure to set PCC as your library in your browser by:
- Visiting the link to set "Library Links" settings for Google Scholar,
- using the search box to search for "Portland Community College",
- checking the check box that appears underneath the search to select “Portland Community College – Find it @ PCC”,
- and then selecting the Save button.
This will ensure that when you search Google Scholar in your browser, you will see Find It @ PCC links to full text if we have the article (Google Scholar sometimes also provides links to other free sources for full text).
You can learn more about setting Google Scholar preferences on the PCC Library Website.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar searches the web for scholarly articles, reports, books, and other materials. If using Google Scholar from a PCC campus, you can access full text articles. If PCC has access to an article, a "Find it @ PCC" link will appear to the right of the search result. Click “Find it @ PCC” to go to the library catalog where you will be offered a choice to view the article. From home, you will need to set your Google Scholar preferences to access PCC Library resources. See How to Search PCC Library on Google Scholar for directions on how to set your Google Scholar preferences at home.
Small Business Journals
Scholarly and trade journals for Small Business. Browse issues in full text. Databases provide generated citations for articles, the ability to email articles, and other tools. These titles also are available on the web, but may require subscription access.
If you don't find full-text
If the article you have found in a library database doesn't have the full text right there, click on the "Find It" button to see if the article is available in full-text in another database. The "Find It" button will look like this. 
If we do have it, it will take you to a page that provides you a link to the database in which the article is available (click on that link to access the article).
If we do not have it, you will see a "Get it" button to request a digital copy (PDF) of the article, which takes approximately 24 hours. The digital copy will be delivered to you via email.
