Automotive Service: Videos
Films on Demand
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowIncludes hundreds of streaming videos (free to currently enrolled PCC students) on automotive diagnosis, repair, and much more. Videos below represent just some of the automotive service videos available via Films on Demand.
Automotive Computer Systems
As any automotive technician understands, the world of car technology is now fully computerized. This series provides a basic working knowledge of automotive computer systems and the ins and outs of OBD-II diagnostics. Students will absorb lessons in computer system operation, trouble codes, scan tools, and repair procedures. Ford, GM, Chrysler, and other makes are discussed, while hybrid engine technology is also addressed. Videos can stand alone or as a series for both beginning automotive students and more advanced classes. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). Viewable/printable instructor’s guides are available online. A Shopware Production. 4-part series, 14–30 minutes each.
- Automotive Computer System Operation "With helpful live-action footage and 3-D computer animation, this program shows students how to analyze scan-tool data retrieved from OBD-II vehicles. Topics covered include: the concept of cybernetics, or how computerized monitoring systems are modeled on the human senses; active and passive sensors; the role of computers in antilock brake, suspension control, climate control, hybrid drive, and other functions; and details on actuators of all types, including solenoid, servomotor, relay, and dash display. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. A Shopware Production. Part of the series Automotive Computer Systems. (30 minutes)"
- Computer On-Board Diagnostics "Almost all new vehicles have on-board diagnostic capabilities, so it is critical for technicians-in-training to be well-grounded in the technology. This video explains the general operation and many of the fine points of on-board diagnostic systems. With an overview of the evolution of OBD technology, the program illustrates the different systems within a car—brakes, electrical, steering, etc.—that an OBD-II system monitors and troubleshoots. Viewers will receive valuable instruction in diagnostic trouble codes, high input failure, low input failure, types of sensors, and using a digital thermometer to verify specific codes. Dealing with older vehicles and reverting to low-tech methods are also explored. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. A Shopware Production. Part of the series Automotive Computer Systems. (14 minutes)"
- Automotive Computer System Service "The word “mechanic” doesn't apply to automotive service any longer—“technician” is more accurate. This program shows students how to use a scan tool to diagnose car system problems, covering the following specific topics: pinpoint tests; active sensor service for oxygen, magnetic, knock, and light or solar sensors; passive sensor service for temperature, throttle position, pressure, and flow sensors; sensor replacement; actuator service; and computer service, including an overview of downloading software directly into a car’s computer to update systems. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. A Shopware Production. Part of the series Automotive Computer Systems. (21 minutes)"
- Scanning Automotive Computer Problems "In recent years, the scan tool has become the most important piece of equipment for any automotive service technician. This program provides a helpful overview in the proper use of the OBD-II scan tool. Covering various types of scan tools, from the basic to the advanced, the program illustrates a typical scan-tool interface and its digitally displayed options, as well as the many types of codes—including hard, soft, and manufacturer—it produces. Viewers will learn how the tool works in different modes, such as functional test, road test, troubleshooter, and more. Locating a vehicle’s diagnostic connector is explained. Special tips highlight looking for stored trouble codes, addressing the loaded codes first, and keeping the car’s battery charged. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. A Shopware Production. Part of the series Automotive Computer Systems. (30 minutes)"
Automotive Heating and Air-Conditioning
This three-part series uses live-action footage and computer animation to illustrate the action that takes place inside a car’s heating and air-conditioning systems. Demonstrates electrical tests, using refrigerant recovery systems, evacuation, charging with just a gauge set, and charging with a charging station. Also covers troubleshooting techniques. A Meridian Production. 3-part series, 21–24 minutes.
- Heating and Air-Conditioning Diagnosis "This program covers basic inspection, checking control head and air door action, feeling and measuring line temperatures, listening for normal and abnormal sounds, as well as other techniques for finding trouble. Compares R-134a refrigerant systems with the older R-12 systems. Viewers also learn how to use a manifold gauge set to complete a performance test to diagnose system operation. A Meridian Production. Part of the series Automotive Heating and Air-Conditioning. (23 minutes)"
- Heating and Air-Conditioning Operation "This program covers physical principles, the basic refrigeration cycle, and the function of major parts—and compares the two major system classifications, expansion valve and orifice tube. Includes theoretical and service information on R-134a refrigerant systems. A Meridian Production. Part of the series Automotive Heating and Air-Conditioning. (24 minutes)"
- Heating and Air-Conditioning Service "This program complements the information given in the diagnosis and operation videos and includes service methods for heating systems, component replacement, and flushing heater cores. A Meridian Production. Part of the series Automotive Heating and Air-Conditioning. (21 minutes)"
Chassis and Front End
Make sure your students have the best possible training in chassis and front-end parts and service. This nine-part series will support any intensive course covering the following systems and how they are serviced: brakes, steering, suspension, and both conventional and front-wheel-drive wheel bearings. Wheel alignment theory and adjustment is also a program topic. Detailed yet easy-to-understand animation and graphics are found in each episode, accompanied by live-action video that takes students directly inside each inspection and service procedure. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). Viewable/printable instructor’s guides are available online. A Shopware Production. 9-part series, 17–27 minutes each.
- Brake System Service "Brake system service is not only a major aspect of automotive education—it’s a matter of life or death. This program covers all phases of brake service, outlining diagnostic methods for system malfunctions as well as how-to sections on servicing master cylinders, boosters, and disc and drum brakes. Viewers are shown every step, from differentiating between lever- and rod-type adjustors, to drum measurement, to machining disc brake rotors, to the best way to force new fluid into a replaced master cylinder. The program includes extensive safety tips and helpful reminders like test-driving a car before returning it to the customer, while on-screen graphics clarify key points. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is included. A Shopware Production. Part of the series Chassis and Front End. (27 minutes)"
- Brake Systems "In order to properly inspect and repair a car’s brakes, students need to understand brake components. This program illustrates typical brake systems, demonstrating the parts and principles involved with detailed live-action footage and animated diagrams. Covering the basics of hydraulic force and its applications, the program looks at the master cylinder, bushings, push rod, brake pedal, wheel cylinder, and all other essentials. Different systems are clearly explained, with one section on drum brakes and another on disc brakes. Students will gain a solid understanding of how friction is applied to brake shoes in drum brake systems, and how the brake pad, piston, and spinning rotor function in disc brakes. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is included. A Shopware Production. Part of the series Chassis and Front End. (21 minutes)"
- Steering System Service "No automotive course is complete without an in-depth look at inspecting and servicing steering systems. This program guides students through the entire process, from diagnosing problems to performing first-rate pump, rack, and linkage system service. Starting with visual, fluid-level, and stethoscope inspection methods, the video shows how to test pressure throughout the system, how to deal with rack-and-pinion components, and how to remove the wheels, tie-rod ends, shaft boot, coupling bolt, and other parts. For linkage systems, the program shows how to check for play in the idler rod, how to remove the gear box, and other essential procedures. Animated diagrams and live-action close-ups make this a comprehensive steering-service guide. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is included. A Shopware Production. Part of the series Chassis and Front End. (25 minutes)"
- Steering Systems "A complete and in-depth guide to automotive steering components, this program takes viewers through system basics, including the control arm, suspension system strut, and steering knuckle, while differentiating between linkage and rack and pinion systems. Illustrating how the steering shaft mounts inside the column assembly, the video explains how power is transferred into the steering gearbox. The linkage system section covers details on worm gears and the pitman arm, while the rack-and-pinion section shows how pinion gear rotation works and explains tie-rod assemblies. Another section is devoted to power steering, including external piston, integral linkage, and power rack-and-pinion types. Animation and live-action shots work together to build thorough steering system know-how. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is included. A Shopware Production. Part of the series Chassis and Front End. (19 minutes)"
- Suspension System Service "Without proper training in suspension system service, aspiring auto technicians are in for a rough ride. This program helps deliver the knowledge and guidance students need, covering diagnosis of suspension system problems as well as detailed how-to sections on servicing shocks, control arms, struts, and springs. Viewers are shown every vital procedure, from inspecting shocks for loosened bushings, to detecting a bad strut bearing, to measuring chassis height prior to spring inspection and replacement. Important reminders like checking wheel alignment after a repair are highlighted, while colorful graphics reinforce crucial concepts. Shop safety is emphasized. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is included. A Shopware Production. Part of the series Chassis and Front End. (18 minutes)"
- Suspension Systems "For help explaining how a car’s suspension system functions, use this detailed video, which covers all essential suspension components. The program first outlines the fundamentals, including the control arm, frame, ball joints, knuckle, spindle, shock, spring, strut rod, and stabilizer bar. Viewers will discover the types of springs—coil, leaf, torsion bar, and air—and how they work, followed by helpful animation on shock configurations and proper functioning. Control- or swing-arm varieties covered include long and short arm, trailing arm, and strut. MacPherson and double wishbone struts are illustrated, along with the engineering breakthrough of active suspension. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is included. A Shopware Production. Part of the series Chassis and Front End. (18 minutes)"
- Wheel Alignment "Prepare students to inspect and adjust wheel alignment with this in-depth, hands-on program. Illustrating the layout of a professional alignment rack, including ramps, radius gauges, heads, and the readout unit, the program shows how these components operate and presents examples of the readout interface. Inspection demonstrations highlight reading tire wear and spotting loose tie-rod ends, a worn idler arm, and a bent center link, as well as what to check for during a test-drive. Viewers will gain a detailed understanding of negative caster, positive caster, negative camber, positive camber, and toe-out and toe-in conditions, while learning the best methods for making adjustments to remedy all of these potential problems. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is included. A Shopware Production. Part of the series Chassis and Front End. (22 minutes)"
- Wheel-Bearing Service: Conventional "Give students a solid foundation for building up their conventional wheel-bearing service experience. This program is the ideal visual aid for conventional bearing training, covering nondriving wheel bearings, rear-axle bearings, and bearing installation. Viewers will learn how to remove drums and races to service nondriving bearings, as well as hubs and axles in the case of rear-axle bearings, and what kind of wear or damage to inspect for. Animated diagrams show correct orientation of the seal lip during new bearing installation. The proper tools for forcing bearings into place are illustrated. Correct lubrication methods are covered, as well as reinstalling the axle, replacing the cover of the differential housing, and all other essential procedures. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is included. A Shopware Production. Part of the series Chassis and Front End. (21 minutes)"
- Wheel-Bearing Service: Front-Wheel Drive "To provide students with a complete education in front-wheel-drive wheel-bearing service, use this detailed, animation-rich program. Main sections include bearing-assembly removal, pressing out the old bearing, and reinstalling the bearing assembly. Viewers will learn how to remove the hub, remove the bearing assembly from a CV axle, and remove the steering knuckle if needed. Knuckle removal explanations include removing tie-rod end, caliper, and brake rotor. Animation demonstrates proper pressing-out methods using the right driving tool. Reinstalling the caliper over the brake rotor or disc, as well as proper tightening of spindle nuts and other fasteners to ensure driver safety, round out this excellent primer. Diagrams and live-action close-ups support key concepts. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is included. A Shopware Production. Part of the series Chassis and Front End. (17 minutes)"
Electrical Systems
This seven-part series uses cutaways, animated component builds, diagrams, close-ups of parts, and footage of auto techs doing tests and making repairs to illustrate the operation and servicing of automotive electrical systems. Includes information on both late-model and older-style vehicles. Viewable/printable instructor’s guides are available online. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). A Shopware Production. 7-part series, 10–17 minutes each.
Automotive Engines
At the heart of every automobile is the engine—and this eight-part series of videos not only explains the basic operating principles, but provides clear instruction for advanced engine service. Using close-ups of actual working parts along with computer animation, the series covers every major part of a gasoline-driven engine. Hybrid technology is also explored. Each video summarizes the operation and construction of related components while demonstrating many important techniques for troubleshooting problems and completing professional repairs. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). Viewable/printable instructor’s guides are available online. A Shopware Production. 8-part series, 16–42 minutes each.
- Cylinder Head Service "Using a detailed, step-by-step approach, this program takes viewers through the intricate process of engine cylinder head service. Students will gain a thorough understanding of head disassembly, head cleaning and inspection, valve grinding, seat grinding, three-angle valve work, and head reassembly. Computer graphics focus on key concepts, while close-ups of actual working parts illustrate state-of-the-art methods for measuring, calibration, grinding, chamfering, cleaning, and inspection. The program includes information on safety precautions for the removal of valves, springs, guides, and other cylinder head parts, as well as how to lubricate them prior to reassembly. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). A Shopware Production. Part of the series Automotive Engines. (25 minutes)"
- Engine Bottom-End Construction "Guiding students through a major component of automotive power, this video summarizes the design and construction of engine bottom-end or short-block assemblies. It explains how bottom-end parts are made and illustrates exactly what they do inside an engine, while comparing and contrasting various part designs. Configurations for the cylinder block, crankshaft, connecting rods, bearings, and pistons—including detailed explanations of part movement and functions—are explained with the help of crystal-clear narration and easy-to-understand graphics and animation. After viewing the video, automotive students will be better equipped to understand engine operation and to analyze part failure when servicing an engine. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). A Shopware Production. Part of the series Automotive Engines. (22 minutes)"
- Engine Teardown, Cleaning, and Inspection "Get students fired up for intensive engine service work! This video demonstrates the most important tasks involved in disassembling, inspecting, cleaning, organizing, and measuring engine parts. All major stages of engine tear-down and reassembly are shown, including front-end disassembly, cylinder head removal, piston and rod removal, crankshaft removal, part cleaning, and part inspection. Viewers will learn how to hoist and suspend or mount an engine, remove major components, measure part wear, check for cracks and damage, and how to determine what parts should be ordered for an engine rebuild. Safety procedures are also reinforced in this program. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is included. A Shopware Production. Part of the series Automotive Engines. (32 minutes)"
- Engine Front-End Construction "With easy-to-understand diagrams, animation, and live-action close-ups, this video guides students through the workings of front-end engine components. Viewers will receive an overview of basic front-end parts, including an outline of the three types of cam drives, and in-depth sections on the construction of timing gears, timing chains, timing belts, harmonic balancers, and front covers. Another section features variable valve timing and lift. The program explains important concepts such as chain slap, harmonic vibration, external vs. internal balance, helical gear teeth, the relationship between camshaft phasing and cam timing, and the importance of not over-tightening front cover bolts. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. A Shopware Production. Part of the series Automotive Engines. (16 minutes)"
- Engine Fundamentals "Future car technicians need a rock-solid understanding of basic engine parts and functions. Using live-action footage and computer animation, this video illustrates the operating principles of a four-stroke cycle piston engine. After an overview of engine fundamentals, the program provides valuable know-how on the following topics: engine block (cylinder block, cylinder, cylinder head, oil pan, crank case, crankshaft, and main caps); piston (piston motion, compression rings, oil ring, and piston pin); connecting rod (wrist pin and rod bearing); crankshaft (main journal, rod journal, TDC, and DBC); cylinder head (attachment to top of block, port, valve, intake manifold, exhaust manifold, valve guide, valve spring, intake valve, exhaust valve, head gasket, and valve cover); camshaft (cam follower, cam in head or cam in block, cam journal, bearings, and lobe); and the four-stroke cycle (intake, compression, power, and exhaust stroke). Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is included. A Shopware Production. Part of the series Automotive Engines. (17 minutes)"
- Engine Reassembly "Filled with helpful graphics and close-ups, this video provides a detailed look at professional car engine reassembly. Viewers will learn the ins and outs of engine block and head reassembly and the installation of the cylinder head, timing mechanism, cover, oil pan, oil pump, and intake manifold. Key points about the head bolts, head gasket, camshaft, crank sprocket, crankshaft, cam cover, lifters, push rods, rocker arms, pan bolts, valve cover gasket, valve cover, and other parts and components are emphasized. Throughout the program, students receive reminders about correct lubrication and bolt tightening procedures. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. A Shopware Production. Part of the series Automotive Engines. (24 minutes)"
- Engine Top-End Construction "Illustrating cylinder head, valve, and valve train construction, this video is the ideal visual aid for any hands-on course in automotive engine technology. In the cylinder head construction section, viewers will learn the configuration of the cylinder head, head gasket, valve cover, camshaft, cylinder head ports, combustion chambers, and other components. The valve construction section shows proper valve sealing, spring tension, and valve parts—keepers, retainers, spring, seal, and more. The valve train construction section explains a common overhead camshaft design, showing the action of the cam, lifter, pushrod, rocker arm, valves, and other essential parts. The program is filled with animated diagrams supporting detailed live-action footage. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is included. A Shopware Production. Part of the series Automotive Engines. (18 minutes)"
- Short-Block Service "Preparing students to perform a complete overhaul, this video shows how to properly install all components into the cylinder block. The block preparation segment explains checking main bore alignment, checking for deck warps, determining piston clearance, choosing the proper cylinder hone, installing freeze plugs, removing and installing cam bearings, and more. Crank installation steps include fitting main bearings into the block, using plastigauge, tightening cap bolts, and measuring end play. The piston and rod service section covers inserting piston rings, gauging and adjusting ring gap, checking ring groove depth, installing oil rings, fitting rod bearings into rods, lowering rods and pistons into the block, and checking ring torque. Graphics and close-up footage reveal all vital procedures. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). A Shopware Production. Part of the series Automotive Engines. (42 minutes)"
Braking Systems ASE Certification
When it comes to automotive professionalism and a concern for customer safety, nothing is more important than high-quality brake repair work. Use this three-part series to give auto-shop students and service trainees their best shot at acing the ASE A5 test, along with real-world capabilities in diagnosing and solving a variety of braking system problems. Episodes are divided into self-contained chapters, each of which pin-points certain areas of ASE-related competence, and led by two authoritative, ASE-certified instructors who make it easy to identify parts and internalize maintenance lessons. Demonstrations are carried out in a fully equipped shop on a range of vehicles, while concise quizzes, helpful graphics, and friendly coaxing on the need for professional integrity add extra shine to this vital teaching toolkit. Correlates to ASE and NATEF standards. A viewable/printable instructor’s guide including ASE/NATEF task correlation checklists is available online. A Shopware Production. 3-part series, 22–33 minutes each.
- Brake Fundamentals, ABS, and Flaring "The laws of physics are central to brake technology, but you’ve got to put theory into practice when servicing a braking system. This video helps automotive students and trainees build a solid knowledge base in brake diagnosis and repair, from the wonders of ABS technology’s three modes of operation to the nitty-gritty of flaring a brake line. Illustrating the basic roles of the master cylinder and the brake booster, the video looks at antilock systems, traction control, and the basics of inputs and outputs. Scan-tool testing is also illustrated. Then, viewers learn the proper way to bend, cut, flare, and install a brake line, including both double-flare and ISO (or bubble-flare) techniques, as well as how to troubleshoot brake hose problems. Correlates to ASE and NATEF standards. A viewable/printable instructor’s guide containing an ASE/NATEF task correlation checklist is available online. A Shopware Production. A part of the Braking Systems ASE Certification Series. (33 minutes)"
- Master Cylinders, Valves and Bleeding, and Power Assist "The ins and outs of brake system maintenance require skilled hands, a sharp eye, and a focused mind. This video serves as a guide to performing work on master cylinders, valves, and power assist components. Dissecting the master cylinder in order to look at its hydraulic components, compensating port, vent port, step bore cylinder, and other parts, the video also examines metering valves, combination valves, proportion valves, and their functions, while discussing pedal force, mechanical advantage, hydraulic advantage, vacuum-suspended boosters, atmospheric-suspended boosters, tandem boosters, single-diaphragm boosters, check valves, and more. All four modes of bleeding are covered. Correlates to ASE and NATEF standards. A viewable/printable instructor’s guide containing an ASE/NATEF task correlation checklist is available online. A Shopware Production. A part of the Braking Systems ASE Certification Series. (29 minutes)"
- Disc and Drum Brakes "Although a car technician needs to become familiar with both disc and drum brakes, each brake type has its own service-related quirks and challenges. This video features both disc and drum instruction for automotive students and service trainees. The disc brake section shows viewers different types of disc pads, rotors, and calipers; how to cut rotors using either a standard or on-car brake lathe; how to visually inspect the lines; how to disassemble the front disc and remove the rotor; and how to reassemble in a professional manner. The drum brake section covers drum shoes, springs, hold-downs, wheel cylinders, and other parts, with insight on cutting drums, disassembly, and reassembly. Staying alert for problems during a test-drive is also emphasized. Correlates to ASE and NATEF standards. A viewable/printable instructor’s guide containing an ASE/NATEF task correlation checklist is available online. A Shopware Production. A part of the Braking Systems ASE Certification Series. (22 minutes)"
Diesel Engine Technology and Service
From trucks to locomotives to ships, diesel engines are the workhorses of modern industry. The trucking industry alone relies on millions of diesel engines as a dependable means of transporting most of the world’s goods, and well-trained technicians are in high demand to maintain and repair this vast trucking fleet. In this three-part video series, students will learn the fundamentals of diesel engine technology and construction, as well as how to properly tear down a diesel engine and how to service a diesel cylinder head. (20-24 minutes each)
- Diesel Engine Technology "This video provides a detailed overview of diesel engine technology and theory, including: a walk through of a standard four-stroke cycle piston engine; an overview of the injection system; a review of the bottom end and cylinder block, with its pistons, crankshafts and bearings; and the cylinder head in the top end, including the head gasket, intake manifold, valve train, and more. "
- Diesel Engine Teardown "This training video will demonstrate how to properly disassemble any kind of diesel engine, while inspecting each part for signs of wear, cracks, and damage. Viewers will learn the importance of part organization, detailed part inspection, proper part alignment, the use of special engine disassembly tools and the importance of thorough part cleaning."
- Diesel Cylinder Head Service "This video will review the most common methods for servicing and rebuilding a diesel engine cylinder head. It will explain how to disassemble, inspect, machine and reassemble different types of diesel cylinder heads, including the complexity of a thorough valve job and the importance of checking the head for cracks, warping, and other forms of damage. (20 minutes) "
Strategy-Based Automotive Diagnosis
- Electrical Diagnosing "Electrical problems can get complex—you will probably spend more time researching multiple resources and developing a plan than you will actually spend fixing the vehicle. Proper use of strategy can save hours of repair time. In this program, two ASE-certified instructors determine why a truck’s horn isn’t functioning and troubleshoot several different power window problems on a Mustang, all using the same strategic seven-step approach that can be applied to any repair issue. Correlates to ASE and NATEF standards, with viewable/printable ASE/NATEF task correlation checklists available online. A Shopware Production. Part of the series Strategy-Based Automotive Diagnosis. (21 minutes)"
- OBD-II Code Diagnosing Today’s vehicles have as many as 30 different onboard computers, and even more sensors, inputs, outputs, and codes, making a systematic diagnostic approach imperative to solving OBD-II codes quickly and efficiently. In this program, two ASE-certified instructors use a strategic seven-step approach to troubleshoot two common “check engine” light concerns, with special focus on how a step-by-step flowchart diagnosis can often point to what’s causing the code to appear. Correlates to ASE and NATEF standards, with viewable/printable ASE/NATEF task correlation checklists available online. A Shopware Production. Part of the series Strategy-Based Automotive Diagnosis. (22 minutes
- ABS and TCS Code Diagnosing "Although advances in brake technology have brought increased safety and reassurance to drivers, the technology’s reliance on computers and sensors makes diagnosis of braking system problems more complex. In this program, two ASE-certified instructors diagnose trouble codes associated with antilock braking systems and traction control systems using a strategic seven-step plan that can be applied to any repair issue. Special attention is given to how systematic circuit testing and use of flowcharts can often get to the root of these problems. Correlates to ASE and NATEF standards, with viewable/printable ASE/NATEF task correlation checklists available online. A Shopware Production. Part of the series Strategy-Based Automotive Diagnosis. (23 minutes)"